Archive for January 2nd, 2012

Amy’s Ride 2012

January 2, 2012

Due to the forecast 41C temperature, the organisers of the 2012 Amy’s Ride invoked their extreme heat policy and this meant that only those who had registered for the 120km “fast group” (30+ km/hr) could still ride the full 120km event, all other riders were told they had to do the 70km event. Truth be told, Em and I had decided yesterday that we were going to do that anyway, and boy was it a good decision.

As in previous years, Adrienne drove down with me and dropped me off at Cunningham Pier, and I met up with Em, Mark & Michelle and Frankie in Eastern Gardens. Mark, Michelle and Frankie were still doing the 120km. I haven’t heard how Mark & Michelle went, but they’re hardened ultra people so I’m sure they were fine, unfortunately Frankie made it to the 92km mark and was picked up by the sag wagon. That’s a great effort though, I definitely couldn’t have made 92km today.

After watching the 120km riders leave, listening to Robbie McEwen and Phil Liggett and some inane countdown recording each time a wave of riders was released, we eventually headed off just after 9am. The 34km through to the first rest stop at Barwon Heads wasn’t too bad, but after that, riding a lot into a hot, stiff, headwind it got really tough.

At the second rest stop at Torquay Airport I realised the text I sent Adrienne hadn’t gone through and I still didn’t have network coverage (bloody “3″ network), so had to borrow Em’s phone. The last 10km or so were a real struggle, I started to feel a bit funny, so I think the heat was getting to me.

We were very glad to finally see Eastern Park, but the ride through the park to the finish line seemed about three times as long as previous years. When we finished we headed for the closest bit of shade for a little breather, then headed down to the food area, where not surprisingly the hot coffee, hot potatoes and hot sausages vendors had no customers, but there a bit of a wait for the Timboon Ice Cream stand. The two scoops of lemon sorbet were well worth the wait though.

So, even though it was shorter by 50km than all the other Amy’s Rides I’ve done, this one was by far the toughest. We still managed an average speed of 25.5 km/hr, finishing the 70km in 2:47. This was pretty good given the conditions I think. In previous years, I have ridden the 7km over to Adrienne’s mum’s place, but today I was very grateful to be picked up. I don’t think I could have ridden another kilometre.

Em, thanks for the chat and the company, I don’t think I would have made it round without it!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.