2014 – A new start!

Well, over a year since I posted here so I’ll be very surprised if anyone is still following, pleasantly surprised though, so if you are there please leave me a comment.

It has been a very tough time since I stopped blogging here. We lost my Dad after a short battle with cancer in October of 2012, and I still miss him every day. Mum is in aged care now, and confirming what we all knew anyway, we got an official Alzheimer’s diagnosis for her earlier this year. We also lost Adrienne’s mum early this year. Due to economic conditions, work has been a pretty tough deal too, but you’ve got to keep going.

Long time followers of this blog will know that starting in about 2004 I embarked on a health and fitness journey, losing 40kg, and maintaining a very lean 75kg for over 6 years. I was a runner (including a full marathon) and bike rider.

Well, the reason I’m posting here again is, I’m afraid, because I have lapsed. I’m ashamed to say my exercise routine is now limited to a daily (pretty much) walk, nothing that gets the heart rate up though. I’m making some bad eating choices, and probably drinking too much.

I have put back on about 14kg of the 40kg I lost, and am struggling to find a t-shirt in my wardrobe that fits me.

So, 2014 will be a change for the better. This blog will become the accountability tool it always was. I’m not going to be manic about it like I was before, but I am going to get myself back down to 80kg (and stay there) by making some better choices and exercising (properly) a few times a week. Expect at least a weekly post here with a progress update.

Wish me luck!

Edit: Official weigh-in for the start of the New Year is 87.1 kg, so the target is a 7.1 kg loss. Here goes.

5 Responses to “2014 – A new start!”

  1. canute1 Says:

    Andrew, I am delighted to see that you are blogging again and sorry to hear about all the troubles that have afflicted you and your family. I look forward to following your progress. Good luck.

  2. Blues Buffett Says:

    Still have you in Feedly although mainly on Facebook. Hope 2014 is a great year for you!

  3. Bill Says:

    Maaaate, of course we still here. Good to have you back on track after a tough period. Can’t have been fun. Looking forward to your posts and progress… ;)

  4. Louise Says:

    Still here. :-)

  5. Andrew Eberhard Says:

    It is so easy to slip eh! I’m still here too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

