Graduated to Run7/Walk1

At weigh-in this morning I was still under goal weight, but only by 500 grams, not really the buffer I wanted for our trip away. I’ll now have two Saturdays without weigh-ins (I decided it would be a bit obsessive to take the scales away with us).

Today started off at the Victoria Market as usual, but a much lighter load than normal as we were really just shopping for the kids as we’ll be away for the next couple of weeks. On the way home we called in to Highpoint to do a spot of shopping. I needed a new warm top, and picked up a nice Puma top in Rebel Sport that was on special. We also wanted a birthday present for my mum and we got that in the ABC Shop. So, we needed two things and got them in the first two shops we went into, so a quick shop there too.

After lunch we did a few jobs in preparation for our holiday (eg ironing) and then clipped the dogs nails (always an ordeal) and took her for a couple of laps around Craigieburn lake.

Tonights run was the first at a new level of Run 7 minutes / Walk 1 minute. I managed quite well from a fitness/cardio point of view and ran through all the 7 minute intervals without an issue. I did have a few little niggles from the knee though, including a couple of times when it felt like it was going to give way (but it didn’t). All in all it was 8km @ 5:27 min/km including the walk breaks.

3 Responses to “Graduated to Run7/Walk1”

  1. mybeforeandafter Says:

    Congrats on taking it up a level!

    … and yes, I am doing the push-up challenge, although with modified push-ups. The challenge has taught me that in some instances it’s ok to modify my goals along the way in order to reach some level of accomplishment. I figure I can start again once I finish my “modified challenge” and perhaps do them on my toes.

    Thanks for the words of encouragement. I wish you the best of luck as you work to accomplish your fitness goals and maintain your healthy lifestyle!

    p.s. The 5k went really well. I managed to jog the whole way and finished in 30 mins and 46 seconds (not as good as my previous 5k’s) but considering I ran those more than a year ago, it is a good time. I’m looking forward to completing a 10k before the end of the year!

  2. jojo Says:

    hey andrew, when i run 8kms-thats about the pace i run(and im not walking) you must be scooting along in the run sections. maybe you should put the garmin away-just time the run sections and dont even look at how far or fast you are running. when you are up to 20mins without walking then start loooking at speed?

  3. Jaykay Says:

    Please take care of that knee. Maybe look to slowing down the run a little bit and see how the knee feels then.

Leave a Reply

