Back home …

Well, after a lovely two weeks in Tasmania we are back home. It’s always nice to be home, back with the family and the dog, and I’m looking forward to sleeping in my own bed tonight!

Before I forget about the holiday though, two more things I want to say.

Firstly, if you are ever in Port Arthur or on Bruny Island, make sure you do the eco-cruise. The two sister companies run these great cruises in the two locations, and they were definitely one of the biggest highlights of our trip. There are competitive cruises in both locations, but my advice is to do these ones – just remember “go on the yellow boat” – you won’t regret it.

dietgirlSecondly, a mention to the book I took away with me to read. It was Shauna Reid’s “The Amazing Adventures of Dietgirl”. For anyone who doesn’t know Shauna’s story she lost an amazing 79.7kg, half of her body weight.

It is an inspiring story, always entertaining, often hilarious and sometimes moving. I enjoyed it immensely. Shauna has a great writing style, and a terrific sense of humour. My only complaint was I enjoyed it so much, it only lasted the first three days of my two week holiday! You can check out Shauna’s story on her blog, and I would highly recommend the book.

There was one particular quote I loved which I’ve added to my quotes in the navigator of my blog – hope Shauna doesn’t mind!

ride-22nd-march-2009Today I got out for a fantastic bike ride with my friend Herb. It was a 41km cruise that took in parts of the Merri Creek, Capital City, Yarra and Moonee Ponds bike paths. A great day for a ride, with heaps of others out running, walking and riding. The only down side was I did manage to have another “cleat related” topple of the bike, on the main bike path, just near Telstra Dome (sorry “Etihad Statdium” now, isn’t it). We came to a sudden stop when another rider didn’t do what we expected him to do, and I just forgot to unclip. It was concrete and tarmac, but no injuries other than my pride. Hopefully, a longer ride planned for tomorrow.

3 Responses to “Back home …”

  1. sassycil Says:

    can I borrow dietgirl book???

  2. AndrewE Says:

    Welcome back. Sounds like you had a great trip!

    And I love that quote too.

  3. a girl running Says:

    I love that book and read it on the plane moving over here

Leave a Reply

