A day of painting and a fall off my bike!

I spent all day (well from about 9am until 4:30pm anyway), painting. I managed to finish one coat of all the roof structure of the new pergola. I am amazed how tiring getting up and down a ladder all day is, and also more aware of how I really don’t like heights very much. Just after lunch I started to get really sore eyes. I thought it might have been looking into the glary sun, but eventually worked out it was because I was sweating and my sunscreen was getting in my eyes! So, I washed off the sunscreen and problem solved. Anyway a good job done, second coat tomorrow.

After that I went for a ride on my bike. I was about half way around, and riding up the bike track near Dimboola Road, Westmeadows and had to ride off the concrete path a bit to go around some path repairs being done. As I went to get back on the path I misjudged the height difference between the grass and the edge of the concrete path and the wheel got caught, and off I came. I fell heavily onto the concrete path, landing on my right elbow, shoulder and hip. I also bent the crap out of my right brake/gear handle too. I think I’ve also bent my rear derailleur because I couldn’t change onto the last sprocket without the derailleur hitting the spokes. Anyway I rode home okay, and have dressed and iced the elbow, which is the worst of the wounds. It feels like it wants to seize up a bit too, so it could make tomorrows painting interesting.

The annoying thing is that it was such a rookie mistake, such a dumb thing to do. God I’m angry with myself, it will probably be an expensive repair. Oh well, it’s done now so I’d better quit bitching about it.

4 Responses to “A day of painting and a fall off my bike!”

  1. Jaykay Says:

    Hope both you and the bike heal quickly!

  2. Kathy Says:

    Oh no Andrew. I hope you’re ok and that the bike repair is cheaper than expected.

  3. jojo Says:

    at least your okay matey 🙂

  4. JH Says:

    That’s how I broke my elbow. Hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

