Another month gone …

Started off this morning going for a bike ride with my mate Herb. We left from his place in Essendon at just after 8am, and rode the Merri Creek Trail, Capital City Trail, stopped at Docklands for a coffee, then back up the Moonee Ponds Creek Trail. All up a loop of 37km.

It was an interesting ride to say the least. Let’s just say that I ain’t no bike mechanic, and my gear adjustment efforts yesterday left a lot to be desired. This lead to some interesting gear changes along the way. Add to that the fact that my hands were numb from the cold within about 10 minutes of starting, despite my winter gloves, and the fact that my glasses kept fogging up in the cold. Surprised I made it back alive. Seriously though, a cold, but enjoyable ride.

This afternoon was spent trying to fix up some of the old paintwork around under the eaves of the house, so mainly the painful preparation part –  scraping, sanding, filling gaps and holes …. the bit that I hate, compared to this, the painting is bundles of fun. At least I got to listen to Geelong cream Essendon while I was doing it!

Monthly Summary

Running: 53 kms at 5:45 min/km (YTD 272 kms at 5:44 min/km)
Cycling: 158 kms at 23.9 kms/hr (YTD 1934 kms at 25.2 kms/hr)
Other: 7 swims and 12 home workouts

Another low running month, and also less kilometres on the bike. This was due largely to the knee rehabilitation, a week of sickness and crashing the bike, so not too bad a month considering. Pleased to see the number of swims on the up, and particularly pleased to have got back into the core/weights workouts at home for the first time this year. I need to keep this up – my core and upper body strength is not as good as good as it should be.

2 Responses to “Another month gone …”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    Ooh man it was cold out there yesterday! I once “fixed” my brother’s bike and managed to leave him with only two gears after making some adjustments to the derailleur.

    • ajh Says:

      I had more than two, it was more the fact that they were changing on their own, and requiring mutliple clicks when I wanted to change them.

Leave a Reply

