I became easily the insensible sense …

An early bike ride this morning with Herb, 40km down the Moonee Ponds Creek Trail, back up the Maribyrnong until we got to the Western Ring Road path, then back down into Niddrie for a coffee before heading home. We got lost a coupe of times, as neither of us had ridden up the Maribyrnong trail that far, and the bike path seems to disappear in a few spots. There were a few diversions we took that would have better suited a mountain bike than my roadie, including a fairly steep grass bank (going down) and a pretty steep, damp, gravel path where I had some real traction troubles. But, another pleasant 2 hours or so on the bike.

More shopping (what else to do on a wet, cold public holiday?), including the obligatory trip to Bunnings (to purchase some of their cheap plastic chairs) and Myer Highpoint (to purchase a couple of business shirts).

Today is a run day for me too, but looking out the window, tonight is just not  running weather so it’s going to have to wait.

Is it just me, or is everyone getting all this spam (in your WordPress blogs) from Russia? Really annoying when you can’t even understand what they say!

With respect to yesterdays little diversion, well done ladies, Jaykay and Kathryn knew who it was and knew the song, Em managed to correctly name it too. It was of course Pink Floyd’s “Comfortably Numb”, which contains, IMHO, one of the best guitar solos of all time. Em said it’s how she feels after a couple of Neurofen, for me it is the state I aim for with a few red wines each night 🙂

Here the original lyric, with the re-translated Japanese in blue.

Hello.
Today.
Is there anybody in there?
Is there anyone there?
Just nod if you can hear me.
When it can inquire about me, nod exactly.
Is there anyone home?
It is anyone in starting point?

Come on, now.
The [a], now.
I hear youre feeling down.
As for me you’ You hear; Re-feeling.
Well I can ease your pain,
Get you on your feet again.
Be good and as for me be possible and your feet profit do for the second time with your pain as easy.

Relax.
Loosen.
I need some information first.
I first need information.
Just the basic facts:
Exactly basic fact:
Can you show me where it hurts?
That is hurt somewhere, it is possible to show in me?
There is no pain, you are receding.
Pain, it has retreated, it is not.
A distant ships smoke on the horizon.
The distant boat smokes with the horizon.
You are only coming through in waves.
Has passed with just the wave.
Your lips move but I cant hear what youre sayin.
Your lip moves, but what kind of you’ I hear, it tilts;
When I was a child I had a fever.
Re-proverb. When I am the child, I possessed heat.
My hands felt just like two balloons.
As for my hand like two balloons you felt exactly.
Now I got that feeling once again.
This time as for me the feeling was obtained once more.
I can’t explain, you would not understand.
I explain, you do not understand it tilts.
This is not how I am.
As for this is I, or how am not.
I have become comfortably numb.
I became easily the insensible sense.

5 Responses to “I became easily the insensible sense …”

  1. jojo Says:

    i ran indoors today-in the pool…and i was not unhappy about it either 🙂

  2. Em Says:

    One suspects that the original authors of the song were on something other than neurofen or red wine 😉

  3. Jaykay Says:

    I heard the rain on the garage and made a snap decision. No running today 😀

    I haven’t had any spam that I know of, but I haven’t really looked lately. Will go check

  4. Sharon Says:

    I never would have guessed it but I got a great giggle out of the translation

  5. Audrey Says:

    Oh, yeah, I get spam. Now that a couple of my blogs have got Google page rank, I have people leaving comments on them to get a backlink to their site. I don’t mind if the comment is relevant, but if it’s just crap, the delete key gets a big workout.

Leave a Reply

