ACDC vs the AFL

Let’s do the maths – 60,000+ people @ $140 per ticket to a concert of the biggest Australian rock and roll band ever, or a handful of people to a game of Australian Rules Football in a pre-season competition that nobody really cares about. It’s a bit of a no-brainer really isn’t it? Just when I think with their insipid anti-drugs policy they couldn’t be any more stupid, the AFL hierarchy prove me wrong.

I am a self-confessed Excel geek. I love playing with Excel. It is always said that most Excel users probably only use 1% of it’s features, but I thought I knew most of them. Well, today I found out about some Excel features I didn’t know about, and it was the highlight of my day. I just wanted to tell everyone about it. Anyway, this is probably not the place to go into detail, but if you are an Excel geek too, did you know about dynamic range names?

Not much exercise tonight, just a short home workout. I’ve got to see Doctor K tomorrow so I didn’t want to break any rules by running two days in a row, I’m sure she’d be able to tell!

9 Responses to “ACDC vs the AFL”

  1. kathryn Says:

    Dynamic named ranges rock! Although I’ve had trouble in the past with named ranges suddenly not working and having to be redefined. It’s a PITA.

  2. canute1 Says:

    I hope all goes well with your visit to Dr K. It is great that you are slowly re-building your fitness for running.
    I have been ironically amused by your recent descriptions of Melbourne winter weather. Much as I enjoy running though the English countryside, with its abundant greenery and wild flowers, I occasionally have nostalgic memories of running through eucalyptus forests. However your recent posts help keep me focused on the delights of sunny England – though perhaps I should also admit that I got pretty wet during my run last Sunday, but at least at this time of year, English rain tends to be gentle and soothing

  3. sassydrcil Says:

    I have taken on board what you said re: tassie pinot noir wines. I have sent hubby out to get one now. Will let you know how it goes.

  4. jojo Says:

    oooh hope it goes well with doctor K. I reckon she would know 😉

  5. Stu Mac Says:

    Yet again the AFL forget to pre-book a stadium for their competition, oh well as you said the pre=season comp is watch by few, so they may as well take it to the country like the Rugby & NRL do.

  6. Kathy Says:

    Go the AFL! A contract is a contract and Etihad Stadium are making life miserable for my favourite footy team.

  7. Kathy Says:

    BTW, I’ve got AC/DC tickets in Sydney. Phhhttt!!!!

  8. Rob de Santos Says:

    If the promoter has a complaint it will be with Etihad management. They are the other contractual party for the concert venue contract. Whatever we may think of the AFL, if their contract with Etihad states they get priority over any other client and were not given the right of refusal as required, then they have a legitimate tort against the contract and Etihad must pay the costs of moving one party or the other. Since we don’t know what the contract says, the press articles are just speculation and noise.

    While this is bad public relations by the AFL, they may well be within their legal rights. Stupid to insist perhaps, but correct nonetheless. Etihad stuffed up here as far we can tell at present, no one else. Unless of course, you have seen the contract, in which case I want to talk to you …

  9. Jaykay Says:

    I learnt all about dynamic range names when I did my Excel 2007 course last year. I’m sure I’ve still got the learning manual somewhere.

    I love Excel. Have had to use it alot over the last couple of years as I was the person who generated all the sales reports to staff, which meant importing from a separate program and then formatting it all.

    I found this program, which makes excel even easier to use.

    http://www.asap-utilities.com/

Leave a Reply

