The Big Five-Oh !!

Fifty today.

I have been stressing about it for a while, but it doesn’t really feel any different. I don’t know why I have been worrying about it, but I have, you know thinking about your own mortality and all that fluff. I shouldn’t really, because I’m sure I’m fitter and healthier today than I was on my 40th or even 30th birthday.

When I arrived at work this morning, the window on my office was adorned with “Happy 50th Birthday” banners and a very much enlarged school photograph of me when I was about 8 years old. Now I know what the conspiritorial whispers were about between Kate and Amanda at lunch yesterday.

A 6km loop with Alyssa after work at just over 5:30 min/km pace.

Out for tea tonight with Adrienne, Chris, Kate and Carly to a nice little restaurant called Chartreuse in Niddrie.

I got some nice presents too, including a lovely limited edition framed Pink Floyd memorabilia piece from Adrienne.

Here’s to the next 50!

12 Responses to “The Big Five-Oh !!”

  1. Aaron Says:

    Belated happy birthday!

  2. blues buffett Says:

    Happy Big One Andrew!
    Now you’re in the next age category, same as me (I hit TBO last year).
    They say if you can run 10k in under your age minutes, you’re a good runner. I just squeak in. How about you?
    Hope the family now shows even greater deference and respect…

  3. Kathryn Says:

    Happy birthday! Hope you have a brilliant day. And heres to being better at 50 than at 30 or 40.

  4. JH Says:

    Congratulations Andrew. I’d say you’re a pretty fit, young, 50!

  5. jojo Says:

    happy bday. yep a very fit fifty year

  6. sassycil Says:

    Happy birthday Andrew – You look younger than your years.

  7. AndrewE Says:

    Congrats and have a great one!

    I hope I’m as fit as you when I reach fifty!

  8. Louise Says:

    yeah, ditto to all above.

    I found the milestone birthdays aren’t so bad when you run in that age group all year (“age as at 31 Dec”). You just get used to running as a (for me) 40 year old for the last 11 months of being 39.

    Then you’re 40 for the next five years!

  9. A Girl Running Says:

    Happy Happy Birthday – hope you had a great day 🙂

  10. Stu Mac Says:

    And a very late happy birthday from me…! A few days of limited reading of Blogs!

  11. Bob Allen Says:

    Welcome to the Pentagenarian age brackets. For a runner, the nice thing about hitting a multiple of 5 is that you suddenly become the youngest in your age bracket and, therefore, among the faster of your age bracket. Happy (late) Birthday.

  12. canute1 Says:

    I am afraid it is a bit too late to say happy birthday – so I will wish you a happy 51st year – a year in which your knee continues to improve and you recover your former racing fitness. It often seems to take far longer to recover fitness than it took to acquire it the first time around – but you have a good mental approach to fitness and the wisdom to take your time. So good luck and a happy year ahead.

Leave a Reply

