RIP Farrah

Farrah Fawcett

I was sad to hear that Farrah Fawcett lost her battle with cancer overnight. As a teenager I was a huge fan of Charlie’s Angels and loved her as Jill Munroe. The picture above was originally published in Time magazine and is the biggest selling pin-up poster of all time.

Rest in peace, Farrah.

Today was my day-off and Adrienne and I went up to Bendigo to see the 2009 Archibald Prize finalists which were on display at the Bendigo Art Gallery. My favourite (by a long way) and also the People’s Choice winner was Vincent Fantauzzo’s portrait of Brandon Walters (the young aboriginal actor who played opposite Nicole Kidman in Australia). It was a stunning portrait over 2 metres wide, so life-like it almost seemed to speak to you. I’m not sure what the judges were thinking not giving it the 2009 Archibald Prize – it was clearly the best entry (IMHO).

Brandon

We had a lovely lunch at the Bendigo Gallery cafe (I had a chicken, cashew, pumpkin and cherry tomato rissotto which was beautiful), then had a walk around the Bendigo city centre. On the way home we stopped at the Rebel sport and I got a foam roller (been looking locally all week, unsuccessfully), so I can start doing some of the massage exercises physio Katrina wants me to do. We stopped at Malmsbury for coffee and cake on the way home (Malmsbury is one of our favourite little spots – it seemed wrong to drive past!).

I decided that a gentle bike ride might be the best thing for the knees, and managed 25km in just under an hour before darkness set in. The knee is still sore, but improved over yesterday.

3 Responses to “RIP Farrah”

  1. Louise Says:

    heh, I was at the Bendigo Art Gallery yesterday too. Wonder if we were there at the same time! My favourite was the Bob Brown one – it had quite a bit of meaning in it, rather than just being a photo portrait like some of the others.

  2. sassycil Says:

    I am wanting to see the archibald exhibition too!
    Will we see you tomorrow?

  3. Jaykay Says:

    I totally agree with you. I love that painting, it’s just so beautiful.

    Hope the knee gets sorted quickly. Very frustrating isn’t it 😡

Leave a Reply

