Fifth

I’d packed my gear to head in for a swim this morning, so set the alarm for 5am. I woke up prior to the alarm going off and heard the wind and rain and decided that an extra hour and a half in bed seemed like a better idea. What a wimp eh?

The full race results were posted on the web today for Sunday’s Run Melbourne. I was happy with my PB time, but even happier to see I’d come 123rd (out of 3,558) overall, and 5th (out of 105) in my age group. Even considering that lots of the entrants are slower walkers, finishing in the top 4 or 5% is better than I normally do.

A relaxing home workout tonight with lots of self massage using my new physio roller, stretching as well as some core exercises and upper body free weights. All this accompanied by The Angels Live turned up nice and loud.

Monthly Summary

Running: 72 kms at 5:31 min/km (YTD 344 kms at 5:41 min/km)
Cycling: 196 kms at 23.2 kms/hr (YTD 2130 kms at 25.0 kms/hr)
Other: 3 swims and 18 home workouts

The most home workouts in a month since my training journal began, so feeling happy about that as the strength training and stretching has always been a weakness for me. Definitely spurred on by my realisation that I have to do this stuff to remain injury free. Amazing how a longish term injury can make you finally realise what is important.

4 Responses to “Fifth”

  1. JH Says:

    I wouldn’t say you’re a wimp – just sane. (except for the Angels – I don’t get that).

    Good result at Run Melbourne!

  2. jojo Says:

    yep-long term injuries suck.i have to be better at my home pilates!

  3. Jaykay Says:

    The Angels live would be a fantastic accompaniment to a workout!!

    Congratulations on your placings too 😀

  4. Scarlett Says:

    Well done on the run my man! That was really fantastic, I’m so impressed with you coming in 5th in your age group. That’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

