More cortisone and dry needling …

Another visit to Dr K today resulted in another cortisone injection in the knee and some more dry needling in the ATB. I’m not sure if it was because she pushed the needles in a bit further, but this time the dry needling was a bit more uncomfortable. I can’t run or ride until at least Sunday, but am allowed to swim with a pull buoy.

I can see I’m going to be a grumpy old man this week.

Edit: Andrew, to answer your question, dry needling is when they just stick needles in you, a bit like acupuncture, so in my case I had about 6 needles inserted along various spots of my lower ATB, then left for a bit, then pulled out a bit and pushed back down. I think the theory is that it stimulates the muscle into recovery or in my case to loosen it up a bit, I think. If anyone has a more definitive medical definition feel free to offer it up in the comments.

4 Responses to “More cortisone and dry needling …”

  1. AndrewE Says:

    What is dry needling?

  2. jojo Says:

    i believe dry needling goes into very tight bits..causing the muscles that are super tight to actually relax around it. The tighter you are, the more it hurts!my advice-avoid it in the back at all costs.. semi LOL

  3. Aaron Says:

    Hope it helps.

    When I first read “dry needling” on your post I immediately thought thats what my wife in summer does when I don’t get onto the jobs that need doing 😉

  4. Em Says:

    It’s called dry needling, literally because the needle is not injecting any fluid into you, true, I googled it.

    It differs from acupuncture in that dry needling targets tight muscles and aims to reduce inflamation, where as acupuncture is more “spiritual” and targets Chi Lines and stuff.

    According to the fount of all knowledge that is Google 😉

Leave a Reply

