Good news from the doc and a run in with the law …

I was lazy and slept in this morning so didn’t make it in for a swim. The appointment with Dr K went well, she was really pleased with the knee, and the fact I’ve been pretty much pain free for the last month. She doesn’t want to see me again, unless I re-injure it. Whilst that is good, I think I’ll actually miss my visits to see her!

We discussed my future running plans and she affirmed my thoughts. That is, no marathons or half-marathons this year, need to build up slowly. Don’t try and run too quickly, too often (there’s some advice I don’t mind), and try and not run three consecutive days. She said to keep up the bike as much as I can too. So I think my running goal for the rest of this year is just to try and hit 100km each month, and stay injury free.

Adrienne and I did some chores (mainly paying bills) then headed down to Niddrie for lunch. On the way back, coming up Matthews Ave (the main street in Airport West for those that don’t know it), we noticed a police car with it’s lights on behind us. Thinking it just wanted to pass, I pulled over. They pulled alongside, window down and asked me to turn left at the next traffic lights and pull over in the side street.

Panicking (just a little) and wondering what the hell I’d done (didn’t think I was speeding, but wasn’t 100% sure), we did as instructed. The (rather large) police officer got out of the car and introduced himself, then told me he had seen me texting on my phone at a set of traffic lights a couple of kms back. I denied this, because I hadn’t been doing it. He asked if I had a phone. I said yes I did, it was in my pocket. He asked to see it. As soon as I took it out of my pocket he apologised and said it was someone else also in a silver Ford, also wearing glasses and “with my face”. I think it is probably a good job my new phone is a distinctive looking full touchscreen phone. I hate to think what would have happened if I had a similar phone to my evil twin!

Anyway, after doing a license check, he apologised again and we went our separate ways. So that was my quota of excitement for the day.

Once home I went for a rather pleasant 30km bike ride down to Strathmore and back.

Tonight I’m going to see the new Tarantino movie, Inglorious Basterds, with Chris – I hope it doesn’t upset me too much!

6 Responses to “Good news from the doc and a run in with the law …”

  1. jojo Says:

    oooh lucky,

  2. kathryn Says:

    That’s scary but it’s good that they pulling up ppl for texting in the car. I hate ppl who do that.

  3. morseyruns Says:

    I loved Inglorious Basterds- so much violence though- I watched it through a finger cage!

  4. Kathy Says:

    Sounds like your getting your “running” while sitting down Andrew. At least you weren’t being pulled over for something you’d done as that would have cost money!

  5. Em Says:

    I’ve heard good things, hope to go see it soon myself, I love a Tarantino flick.

    I saw Dr K yesterday too, glad to hear you had a good news visit, I was in for my regular blood test.

  6. Bill Wallace Says:

    Inglourious Basterds!!! The police should take more care! Oh, the film?
    Mate we all applauded in our cinema. Uber cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

