Whoosh ….

That was the noise that my first puncture in about 10 months (328 days to be exact) made on my ride tonight. I’m not sure what it was that I hit, but whatever it was slashed right through the side of the tyre, and it flattened in seconds. I’ve done over 3600km in this set of tyres without a puncture, and I was planning on replacing them soon anyway, so I guess I shouldn’t complain too much. I put one of my tube patches on the inside of the tyre to provide some protection, and put in my spare tube, and rode home slower than normal – better be safe than sorry, especially when riding on a slightly under-inflated tyre (I can’t pump my tyres up to the required 110-120psi with my hand pump, I need my foot pump to do a proper job). Anyway, a slightly shorter and slower ride than planned, just under 20km at about 24km/hr.

Last night I also rode, just under 26km at just over 26km/hr. This morning was a run before work with Deb, our usual 8km loop at 5:32 min/km. It was really windy, and it felt really tough. It was my first run in a week, after being sick for most of the intervening period, so I guess that is not surprising. If I hadn’t had a running buddy there would have been lots of walk breaks I think – definitely helps spur you along with a partner.

Monthly Summary
Running: 80 kms at 5:29 min/km (YTD 611 kms at 5:37 min/km)
Cycling: 341 kms at 23.9 kms/hr (YTD 3067 kms at 24.8 kms/hr)
Other: 9 home workouts

Another reasonable month, interrupted as it was by sickness in the last week.

6 Responses to “Whoosh ….”

  1. jojo Says:

    yep
    people to run with makes it less easy to stop and wakl!

  2. morseyruns Says:

    Ohmigod! I can’t believe you have written a post without mentioning Geelong! Are you feeling okay? πŸ˜‰ I love the passion you crazy people have for your footy teams- and I know that you extend that passion to other things in your life like your family and your health so I guess I don’t have to worry about you mental health!

  3. Andrew Says:

    10 months without a puncture is a pretty good run I reckon.

  4. Eat Em Says:

    Hate that sound …. πŸ™‚

  5. JH Says:

    I hate bloody punctures.

  6. Kathy Says:

    Glad your tyres lasted so long Andrew.

Leave a Reply

