A trip around the Bellarine Peninsula

Even though I wasn’t working today I arranged to go in for a run with Deb (who was working). When I got there Deb was in her running clothes but looking decidedly seedy and saying she thought she might have gastro so had decided not to run. So, I did our usual 8.5km loop on my own, the first time I’ve run the loop on my own. I did it at a reasonable pace, 5:15 min/km (it is quite hilly), but must admit that I did walk a couple of times up the big hill. Shows you how weak-willed I am, I never do that when running with Deb.

Adrienne and I then drove down to Geelong and had a little trip around the Bellarine Peninsula. We checked out where the Sri Chinmoy run is next weekend on the way through Geelong, then headed down and had a coffee and cake in Portarlington followed by a walk around the shops and down the pier. Then off to Queenscliff and a look around the shops and to The Rip lookout. Next stop was Ocean Grove for some lunch, a walk around the town and a walk along the beach. Then a quick stop off to visit my mum & dad in Geelong on the way home.

Upon return home I headed out for a little 20km ride on the bike, then we had a nice slab of steak on the BBQ for tea.

A short home workout to round out the day.

4 Responses to “A trip around the Bellarine Peninsula”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    Sounds like the perfect way to spend a day off!

  2. Aaron Says:

    Thanks for your kind note on my blog. Still a little sore today but actually can walk around normally.

    Thats a pretty good pace for hills. How is the knee feeling?
    Running on your own is sometimes harder. I know it is easy to take unscheduled walking breaks. I found when running with work colleagues in training was really motivated to keep going (didn’t want to get any stick!)

    BBQ sounds good. We’ve had our first for the year and have another planned this weekend.

  3. Eat Em Says:

    AJH … that is where Michelle & I were over the weekend 🙂

    All the best for Sri Chinmoy ….

  4. jojo Says:

    umm andrew..is that the pace you ran including walks? also it is a LOT faster than you have been running you know!!!!!!!!!!!! dont put yourself down, you run wellAND you run consistently
    ..and ummmmm if i do run 4 the kids next year, we’re running together!

    and when are you going to come down and run as an invite at Shield. come sit with me, maybe do a 5 or 3km on the track?if you do it on the week of an 800m race, i will also run.if you’re keen, email me

Leave a Reply

