Preparation …

The usual trip to the Victoria Market started the day and our purchases were definitely more summery. Lots of things to make salads (I love summer for this reason, I think I’m a salad person more than a vegetable person), lots of things to cook on the barbeque (we had some delicious chicken sausages tonight) and lots of nice fruit (much of which went into a delightful fruit salad, with which I had yoghurt and muesli tonight).

The rest of the day was spent painting. Well, not actually painting because the paint tin never got opened, rather it was preparation. The preparation is the worst part I reckon, cleaning, wire brushing, sanding, filling gaps – it is quite hard work, especially in 30 degree heat. I’m re-painting under the eaves around the outside of our house. If you remember I did a little bit when we put up our new deck/pergola, now I’m starting the rest of the house. So, 7 hours or so of preparation today will lead to hopefully significantly less time than that painting tomorrow.

I am pulling out of the Sri Chinmoy Geelong run tomorrow, my sore calf is just not up to it. It is vastly improved, I didn’t really notice it much climbing up and down the ladder all afternoon, nor walking around the market. I went for a short run (2.5km) tonight, including some bursts of race pace, during which there were some definite twinges from the calf. I don’t think it is up to a race. This is the first race I’ve entered and not started. Whilst I’m disappointed, I think that long-term it is the most sensible course of action. “Discretion is the better part of valour”, “Live to fight another day” – funny how those platitudes don’t really make you feel any less disappointed.

3 Responses to “Preparation …”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    Sounds very sensible Andrew- though if I had the choice between painting and running in pain I don’t know which I would choose. I despise painting but I think that is because I don’t have the patience for preparing properly. I am sure you will get quite a good workout up and down the ladder all day in the heat.

  2. Aaron Says:

    Very sensible.

    I’m not sure I envy painting in the heat though.

  3. jojo Says:

    me too me too.salads that is. I said to stu tonight i would be HAPPY to eat salads every night til the end of summer. he just looks at me and tells me im a BIG exaggerator, but i actually meant it. gotta love a salad…
    ahough a salad doesnt fill me up(im a bit of a greedy guts), i do need meat or something with it

Leave a Reply

