I don’t want to get old …

Up and out on the bike at 7am this morning for a 45km ride down the Moonee Ponds Creek trail to Essendon and back. It really was a beautiful day for a ride, lots of other runners and riders out too. An awful lot of people walking their dogs too – maybe worried about being put in jail if they don’t. How ridiculous is that?

Then helping in the kitchen and getting the barbeque going as we’d asked my mum and dad up for lunch. We had a roast chook, which is my favourite thing in the barbeque.

My mum and dad (both in their mid to late 70s) are both starting to fail a little which makes me very, very sad. I really, really don’t want to get old.

After they’d gone I felt a bit low, so headed out on the bike again. A few loops of the local streets, about 23km.

I’ve just come back from another massage with Matt. The areas of focus tonight were my piriformis, hamstrings and calves. He got rid of the knot that’s been in my right calf all week, which I’m very happy about.

5 Responses to “I don’t want to get old …”

  1. jojo Says:

    by being fit, you are slowing the aging process if it helps

  2. Aaron Says:

    I was just thinking fit helps people age well.

    Thats a lot of riding for one day!

  3. AndrewE Says:

    I’m hoping to keep going for a while yet myself!

  4. Eat Em Says:

    Old age is not fair in many respects – but be grateful that you still have both of your parents with you.

  5. sassycil Says:

    not all ageing comes with inexorable and severe decline.
    You will be glad to know that there is a big push in geriatrics for prevention.
    I see quite a few good nonogenerians even in my acute hospital work

Leave a Reply

