Weekend Catchup

Three days since the last post!

Friday
Work was SSDD. After work a pleasant 28km ride on the bike around the local streets and bike paths, average speed 26.8 km/hr.

Saturday
At weigh-in this morning I saw 70 for the first time since January 2007, weighing in at 70.9kg. I’m glad that all the Christmas baggage is gone, but now, given that my weight goal is to stay “within the 70-75kg range”, maybe I should start worrying about not losing too much more. I can’t see myself cutting the exercise down, so perhaps I need to pay attention to my diet. The book I’m reading at the moment (“Racing Weight” by Matt Fitzgerald) has a lot of information I’m taking in, and I think I’m going to pay a little more attention to my diet quality and the nutrient proportions and this may involve eating a little more too.

Victoria Market trip as usual started the day, and as with so many other weekends recently a few hours painting followed. After that, another common weekend activity, the trip to Bunnings!

We also visited the local shopping centre where I spent a little bit of my Christmas money. I bought Comeback 2.0, the latest Lance Armstrong book. It is a bit of a coffee table book, lots of great pictures, and narrative from Lance detailing his 2009 comeback. I’d picked it up a few times in book shops, and couldn’t justify the price tag (it was $43.99 in Angus & Robertson), but found it more than $20 cheaper in BigW, so I decided to buy it.

Before tea I went for a run. An 8km run around the suburb. It was still reasonably warm, and it felt hard. A few little complaints from the calf still, but it wasn’t too bad. Average pace, 5:15 min/km.

Sunday
Started off the day with a nice long ride. 55km around the Wildwood-Airport loop. It was a bit windy, and this is a fairly hilly ride, the quads were feeling it by the end. I managed the hills okay though, and some of the descents were fun too, hitting 60km/hr down the steep, windy, country roads. Average speed was 24.6 km/hr, here is the route and elevation profile.

This afternoon we went to the cinema and saw Sherlock Holmes. This was a great movie, I’d highly recommend it – Robert Downey Jnr was superb. Not at all what I expected for Sherlock Holmes.

6 Responses to “Weekend Catchup”

  1. Jaykay Says:

    Sherlock Holmes is on my want to see list. As is Alice in Wonderland with Johnny Depp (drool….).

    I wish my weight was going downwards. Tomorrow starts a new campaign 😉

  2. morseyruns Says:

    I thought it was excellent too! Nice ride- I have been given the ok to get back on the bike- but am aiming for a few bush walks on my weekends instead, might be a little bit longer than I had planned off the bike.

  3. jojo Says:

    gee i wish i had to worry about losing too much.lol…NEVER gonna happen

  4. chris Says:

    where do you get your elevation profiles from?

  5. blues buffett Says:

    That’s good training: long cycle, 8k run, longer cycle!

    As long as the calf is okay, I’d say – you’re back!

  6. AndrewE Says:

    That’s a great effort on the bike. 60kph! I hope your brakes are in good nick.

Leave a Reply

