I think I need a new passport …

Well, I’m in Singapore, it’s about 5am Singapore time, and pretty much true to form for me, I’ve had almost no sleep. I always struggle the first night or two when I travel, just dozed on and off all night.

I think I need a new passport. Mine is about 8 years old, so the photo in it is prior to my weight loss. I guess it doesn’t really look much like me anymore. At the customs desk in Melbourne the customs officer decided he needed to call the supervisor over to decide if it was really me or not. My driver’s license is not much help either, it is of the same vintage. At immigration in Singapore the same thing happened, only this time the security guard was called over to take me (through the throngs of waiting people) to the immigration desk. Everyone was real nice, but it did sort of make you feel like you were in an episode of Border Security. I didn’t travel overseas last year, but hadn’t been challenged the couple of years before that, and had a few trips after the weight loss. Maybe it’s a combination of that, and getting a bit older? I think one of the first jobs when I get back is to apply for a new passport.

The flight was good – a little turbulent in places, enough for them to suspend cabin service and make the crew strap in to their seats. I had never flown Singapore Airlines before, but would again, service very good and friendly. Food was good, I chose a fish curry main course which was tasty. I watched the new movie “Law Abiding Citizen”, which was very good, then two episodes of CSI NY, two episodes of Curb Your Enthusiasm and two episodes of The IT Crowd – all of the TV shows were new season ones that I don’t think have been on Aussie TV yet.

John, in answer to your question on whether I’m going to run here, the answer is “not sure”. I decided I wasn’t going to stress myself over having a three-day rest, but did bring one pair of shorts and runners. We’ll see, I’m not going to this morning (feel too tired), we’ll see what happens.

Anyway, might go check my work emails ! Have fun all !

8 Responses to “I think I need a new passport …”

  1. chrisfit2009 Says:

    Sounds like a good excuse for some before and after photos!

  2. AndrewENZ Says:

    Go for a run! And I’ve been pulled into the back in Singapore as well!

  3. JH Says:

    Go for a run, if you can. It’s always good to experience running in different surroundings. I liked running in Vietnam, even though it was a bit hair-raising at times.

  4. sassycil Says:

    I am blonde in my passport photo and they have to take a few looks….
    It would be annoying for you, but good on one level; you have overhauled yourself!

  5. sassycil Says:

    Oh, and have fun! I lurrrrve Changi Airport!

  6. morseyruns Says:

    I look like an inflated bullfrog in my passport photo- so I pull that face at customs everytime!

  7. shells Says:

    love curb your enthusiasm and IT crowd! last time I came back from america, Aus customs person, looking at my passport, said – ‘Are you wearing an evening dress in this photo?’. I said, ‘no! it’s a singlet!’ From the way they were studying it I thought they were going to ask me if I had any contraband!

  8. jojo Says:

    i guess when you LOSE that much weight you do like a diff person…go you

Leave a Reply

