Tough run

This morning was my first run for 10 days, and Deb made me work hard. We usually take two stretch breaks on our 8km run, one at the 4km mark, and the second at the 6km mark (also coincidentally at the top of the big hill). Today as we stopped for our first stretch Deb asked if I’d mind if we didn’t take the second break, and if we pushed ourselves a bit to complete the second half of the run at sub 5-minute pace. I wasn’t expecting a tough run this morning, but agreed to her plan, she is in serious triathlon training, which I wouldn’t want to affect. Whilst sub 5-minute pace isn’t that fast, the second half of this run includes a significant hill, but mission was accomplished, completing the second half of the run at an average pace of 4:59 min/km, with an overall pace for the entire 8km of 5:06 min/km.

Tonight I did the end of week 2 exhaustion test for the 100 Pushups, 200 Situps and 200 Squats programs, completing 28 pushups, 41 situps and 50 squats. These were all enough to put me in the toughest column for week 3, but still seem miles away from the end goal!

BB, no problem, I understand, my company is the same and will save on the overnight accomodation if they can as well. As you say, we’ll catch-up eventually!

3 Responses to “Tough run”

  1. jojo Says:

    sub 5min/km still feels fast to me

  2. AndrewENZ Says:

    I dream of sub 5s myself!

    How’s the knee?

  3. Bill Wallace Says:

    I’m with the others. Sub 5 mins? 🙂
    It’s great running with a serious partner. Keeps you honest and pushes you. Great run Andrew.

Leave a Reply

