Aaaargh …

That’s the sound of a frustrated injured runner!

The run tonight was supposed to be 10-12 km, with cooler weather the first few kilometres felt good and clicked by at a comfortable pace of about 5:15 . Then I felt the right calf twang again, same spot as before. Not quite as bad as before, so after a stretch I kept running, albeit somewhat slower. A few more stretch breaks, a bit of walking, a lot of swearing and finally got home to finish just over 8km at an average pace of 5:38 min/km.

Liberal application of voltaren, a couple of icings, self-massage with The Stick and an anti-inflammatory, but it hurts to walk, so I’m limping around.

Where to from here I ask myself. Well, I can’t see myself running again this week. But I really want to do R4TK. So, I think it is just going to be a matter of resting it from running, easy rides on the bike, maybe hit the pool again. Then, just see if I can survive R4TK.

I have to ask myself, do I really want to run if this is the pattern that is going to keep re-occurring. Perhaps I’m better off sticking to the bike.

10 Responses to “Aaaargh …”

  1. blues buffett Says:

    You can’t stop running. You may as well try to stop breathing!

    Have you tried Chiro? Acupuncture?

    Sorry to hear the bad calf has returned. Hope you find some decent treatment.

  2. jojo Says:

    bummer
    calves are a bugger of a thing! they can take months. maybe rest for a good period whilst just riding..? see what laren says…and sorry not sure of her location, maybe chapel st?

  3. Tom Says:

    I hope your carefull. I have a friend who runs a ton like you and he got small stress fractures in his shins. So be careful! Switching it up to a non compund stress exercise sounds good there. Hope you heal quickly!

    Tom Brokaw
    http://www.ihategreenapples.com

  4. AndrewENZ Says:

    Bugger!

  5. JH Says:

    Ayeee, that’s not good.

  6. Louise Says:

    ditto. commiserations, etc.

    have you tried compression? Either those sexy white (or black) socks that RobHall loves, or an elastic wrap from the chemist.

  7. cilla Says:

    I hear ya, buddy.
    Maybe see if you can do the lesser distance?
    You are still fit and fabulous (and smart and debonair) 😛
    Cilla

  8. shells Says:

    Thankyou so much for the Trailwalker donation! So generous of you and much appreciated!

    That’s not good news about the calf. I think your plan is sensible – resting it up from running and doing easy rides on the bike. Maybe see if you can swap to the 5.2km at R4TK if your calf is feeling okay in 2 weeks?

  9. Aaron Says:

    Very frustrating. I have been there and done that with the calf. Time on the bike is a good idea…

  10. Bill Wallace Says:

    Isn’t 5.38mins/k quite quick with all those breaks??? I’d be happy (well, not with the twang, no)

Leave a Reply

