Run For The Kids 2010

Well, R4TK 2010 is done and dusted, and went pretty much to plan, if you can call no training and just trying to survive without re-injuring myself, a plan. The plan was to just take it slowly (which wasn’t hard at the start, with the huge crowds), and run all the way (but allowing myself to walk through the drink stations). This plan was successful, although I have to say I very nearly cracked going up the Collins St hill (about the 12km mark), but soldiered on and didn’t stop and walk. It was quite warm, and I ended up a sweaty mess at the end, but a happy, sweaty mess, because while the calves were ultra tight all day, no real pain in them or the knees.

Estimated time only as I left “Auto Pause When Stopped” turned on, so my Garmin stopped recording when it lost satellite reception in the Domain Tunnel – 14.38km in 1:24, so about 5:51 min/km pace.

It was also really nice to catch up with some blog buddies (John, Jay, Cilla, Shells, Kathryn and Wombat), and the couple of beers at the Transport afterwards were very sweet indeed.

A spot more painting this afternoon, and I am one tired little boy.

Jay, I suspect Em’s comment may be a tongue-in-cheek comment on my musical taste rather than an actual question, but just in case it’s not, I’d say Quo’s biggest hits might be “Down, Down”, “Roll Over Lay Down” or “Caroline” ?

7 Responses to “Run For The Kids 2010”

  1. Em Says:

    Nope, deadly serious, only because I do know them, I just can’t place any songs, I did a You Tube and am now up to speed, hope you had a good night 🙂

    Glad you got through the run, I did think of you from time to time and was hoping you were hanging in there. Sorry I didn’t make Transport, I waited around for the presentations and then I was stuffed and needed a nap.

  2. Kathryn Says:

    Ummm it’s 2010 isn’t it???

    Good to catch up and thanks for the lift home 😀

  3. ebsfwan Says:

    I’m glad to see you didn’t break down! Sounds like a great event.

  4. chrisfit2009 Says:

    Well done. At least someone had a score this weekend!
    Never doubt yourself again!

  5. sara Says:

    Hope you had a beer for me! First Run4Kids I have missed- sounds like a great day for it.

  6. jojo Says:

    yay, getting through uninjured. i agree with your post on Ems blog, that was a thoroughly great run that one with Em and yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

