A wet run …

Deb and I had organised to run this morning, but when I woke and heard the rain I wasn’t sure we’d make it. I haven’t run since R4TK, and I knew Deb hadn’t done much since the BRW Triathlon on 28th February, so we were both pretty keen for a run. So I got up and headed into work at about 6:30am. It was still raining pretty heavily, but we both decided that a bit of water never hurt anyone, so off we went. Only about 500m into the run we were running along Melrose Drive when a car went past, through a puddle, and saturated both of us from the waist down. Deb was on the outside so she copped it worse than me. It was a slowish run due to it being the first for a while, my quads being sore, the lack of visibilty due to the rain and the fact that there was a fair bit of water lying around. The rain stopped about half way round, and the rest of the run was very pleasant. Ended up being our usual 8km loop at about 5:42 min/km pace.

What about Tony Abbott? Completing the Port MacQuarie Ironman yesterday at 52 years old, what an awesome effort. It shits me that certain media, and some of his political opponents are actually coming out and criticising him? Surely we (the Australian general public) need as many positive role models as possible to get out and exercise. After all, if a federal politician can find the time to train enough to successfully complete a 3.8km swim, 180km bike ride and a 42.2km run, shouldn’t the average Joe be able to find the time to do 20-30 minutes a day. Not sure if it will be enough to win my vote, but you’ve got to respect the man for this effort.

The second thing that has pissed me off today is the “nanny state” comment from Mark Webber. Come live at my house with our hoon neighbours, and then tell me we don’t need hoon laws. Lewis Hamilton lost my respect with his particularly bad example “hooning” the other day, but Mark Webber’s comments, as an Australian, are in my opinion worse.

And, please, those people who are complaining over the use of the word “dickhead” in the latest TAC “Don’t Be A Dickhead” campaign, get over yourselves. Anything that rams home the message and possibly saves a life on the roads, is okay by me.

Climbing down off my soapbox now.

A short home workout tonight consisting primarily of stretching, physio roller massage, my VMO exercises and a little core stuff.

6 Responses to “A wet run …”

  1. Kathryn Says:

    I hadn’t heard the comments on the hoon laws but seriously, they use the “nanny state” thing for every thing now. I reckon come down on them as hard as possible. Don’t sell these kids high powered cars. Don’t sell them – or anyone – insanely loud car stereos either. If some little shithead gets caught hooning, then crush his freaken car. Crush his parent’s cars too. And then send them to do community service in a hospital ward full of car crash victims.

  2. morseyruns Says:

    Both those issues caused me to leave comments on …………the herald sun website today! And I am in agreeance with you on both.

  3. AndrewENZ Says:

    Love the hoon laws myself! Kudos on you for getting out there in the wet!

  4. JH Says:

    I’m with you on all of this. I wouldn’t vote for Abbott, but I am impressed with his athletic achievements. I would vote for anyone who would promise to deport Mark Webber and his petrol-head mates.

  5. sassycil Says:

    Agree with all of the above.
    Why are cops never around when the bogans are hooning and around when I am making an innocent little call on my mobile while driving???
    Respect to Abbott for Ironman. Fricking hate his politics though.
    take care

  6. jojo Says:

    i agree with your rants!

Leave a Reply

