Groundhog Day?

Well, not exactly like Groundhog Day, but today was very similar to last Saturday, I think I could just about cut & paste last Saturday’s blog post and be done with it!

73kg exactly at weigh-in this morning – staying very steady.

A trip to the Victoria Market as usual, but a much cheaper one than usual as we did a bit of a reccie of the freezer and decided to use up what we have in there and not buy much meat. We’ve also had a few meat-free days this last week, and I have to say I don’t miss it at all. The vegetarian meals we had last week were really scrumptious!

I decided to paint again today, but due to the threat of inclement weather decided to do the windows and door that are underneath the pergola. It was a good job I did because it rained about an hour or so before I finished. In fact, bad light nearly stopped play painting. It got so dark I could hardly see what I was doing – it was a good job it was only the first coat. The poor little dog got a bit confused too. I took off the flyscreen door to paint, and had the back door open so she had free entry/exit from the house, much more freedom than she’s used to! Then when I had to actually paint the back door and door step, Adrienne kept her on the lead in the house – much less freedom than she’s used to!

Painted right through until tea-time, so no cardio again, just a 40 minute home workout tonight – accompanied by the brilliant voice of Paul Rodgers with Bad Company.

3 Responses to “Groundhog Day?”

  1. chrisfit2009 Says:

    Is it pouring in Melbourne?

  2. canute1 Says:

    Andrew,

    It is great that you are continuing to maintain your commitment to a range of fitness activities and in particular your cycling is going well. Unfortunately it appears that your knee is limiting your running. You are managing to stop this from frustrating you too much, but it would be good if you could regular running back into your program.

    I myself have had joint problems since teenage, and over the years both of my knees have suffered, but since taking up running regularly again in recent years, my knees have actually been less troublesome. I think that, at least in part, this has been because I have adjusted my running style to minimize stress on the knees. Maybe it would be worth getting an evaluation of your running style to see if there is any change you can make to reduce stress soon the knee.

    These are the things that I think have helped me:
    1) running with a fairly high cadence (180-200 steps per minute) and corresponding short stride – though I am trying to avoid letting my stride become too constricted because I think very high cadence is inefficient.
    2) landing on mid-foot, with the foot only slightly ahead of the body, and with a slightly flexed knee – think ‘soft knees’.
    3) building up distance and speed very slowly. Within each session, I warm up well. I do quite a lot of progressive runs where I start very slowly and increase steadily after the first 2 Km.

  3. morseyruns Says:

    I don’t understand where you are finding the motivation to paint! Motivation to run comes and goes, but my motivation to paint is never to be found.

Leave a Reply

