Five of my favourite … Books

This was so much harder than the Albums or TV Shows. Harder because of how much my reading preferences have changed over the years. Harder because it seems almost impossible to compare genres. For that reason I’ve decided to limit my choices to books I’ve read recently (last five or so years) and to books related to exercise/sport/fitness which seem to have dominated the books I’ve read during that period.

In no particular order;

John Bingham’s “No Need For Speed” was the first running book I ever bought, and given my “fatty never run much before” status at the time, I related so much to the writers stories of his progress. I found it very inspiring at the time and still regularly pick it up to read selections. John’s mantra ““The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.” has been prominent on my blog since I started it.

Lance Armstrong’s “It’s Not About The Bike” is easily the most inspiring book I have ever read. If you are a regular reader of my blog you’ll know Lance is one of my sporting heroes. This book is special.

I had been a fan of Shauna Reid’s blog for a while before I read her book. I took  “The Amazing Adventures of Dietgirl” away with me on a trip to Tassie and had it read in the first couple of days. Shauna has an infectious writing style and her book is entertaining, moving, hilarious and inspiring all at the same time. It’s on my bedside table now as I’m reading it again.

Christopher McDougall’s “Born To Run” is a true story that I reviewed in length previously, here. It is such a great story, that it almost seems to good a yarn to be true, but it is not a work of fiction. As well as a wonderful story though, there is also very engaging theory along the way too. Including the very powerful thesis that man was not only born to run, but that running, and running long distances was central to man’s superior anthropological development over other species. A great read.

Christopher Bergland is a world class triathlete and multiple winner of the triple ironman (7.2 mile swim, 336 miles on the bike, then 78.6 mile run). “The Athlete’s Way” is all about the physiology of why we feel good when we exercise and sweat. Another enjoyable, inspiring read.

Today was another “gunna get up for a swim but didn’t” day, another no run or ride day (after it took 45 minutes for the 10km drive home and was therefore dark). I did work a bit harder and longer than normal during my home workout later on.

2 Responses to “Five of my favourite … Books”

  1. Em Says:

    Hmmm, I might go for books I have re-read many times

    Alice in Wonderland/Alice Through The Looking Glass
    Snugglepot and Cuddlepie (Banksia pods still freak me out)
    1984
    A Clockwork Orange
    Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep (it was made into the film Bladerunner)

    And about a 1000 honourable mentions 😆

  2. shauna Says:

    You’re reading it again? I think I might cry… seriously. That’s really cool 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

