A swim and a run …

I had a doctor’s appointment at 9am this morning, so I decided to go in for a swim, take a bit longer at the gym, then head straight to the doctors. I swam my normal 80 laps with a lane to myself the whole time, then had a bit longer than usual in the spa and steam room, then spent 10 minutes in the sauna as well. After a shower, I had a cup of coffee and read the paper in the bistro. A nice relaxed start to the day.

I was parked in my car outside the doctor’s surgery at 8:45am reading my book when my mobile rang. It was the doctor’s receptionist saying the doctor wouldn’t be there until 10:30am, so could I come back then. I knew I had another meeting later in the morning, but couldn’t remember what it was, so said I’d go into work and ring them. I did that, rescheduled my meeting, rang back the doctors only to find that the 10:30am had been given to someone else and there were no more appointments today. I’m glad I didn’t have something life-threatening.

A run after work was my first this year with my long Skins top & bottom and my gloves. Despite the cold, the run was a nice sweaty one, just under 8km at 5:14 min/km pace.

I have set myself two goals this week;

  • to have a red wine free week
  • to stay out of the lolly jar at work

So far, so good.

7 Responses to “A swim and a run …”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    I might join you in the wine free week- it will be a massive test! Good luck.

  2. Sassycil Says:

    A doctors time is not their own, so they must borrow yours.
    Hope you are ok!!
    Your goals sound lofty indeed.

  3. AndrewENZ Says:

    Good luck with those goals.

  4. JH Says:

    So you can’t have red wine? How about white? There’s a line in an old Bob Dylan song about someone who “started out on burgundy but soon hit the harder stuff”.

  5. Em Says:

    Hey, that’s some good pace there 🙂

    Ummm, I am drinking a nice Pinot right now, no red wine free week for me.

  6. Carla Says:

    Wow, 80 laps of swimming! I think I would die!!!

    Good luck with your goals for this week. For me it’s not the wine, it’s the beer. It’s so nice out now that every nite my husband asks me if I want a beer!!!

  7. jojo Says:

    yep no wine free week. i had 4 wine free days last week.thats a start 🙂

Leave a Reply

