Pink Floyd Experience – A Review

Being such a huge Pink Floyd fan, I went to the gig last night expecting to be a little disappointed, because no one can really do Floyd justice, right? Wrong. Very wrong. This New Zealand outfit are just superb. To call it a tribute show really doesn’t do it justice. They are a bunch of superbly talented musicians, obviously very passionate about Pink Floyd’s music and they put on a truly superb show. Rick (bless his soul), Nick, Roger and Dave would have been very proud of the show last night, and I enjoyed it immensely. Pink Floyd’s music has always evoked a very emotional response in me, and last night was no different – it was, as the name suggests, a Pink Floyd Experience. The show started at 8pm and with a short intermission went until well after 11pm.

The set list included a few oldies, some that I’ve not played for so long, but now remember how much I love (I’m sure that a few old Floyd albums will be pulled out over coming weeks) as well as the entire Dark Side of the Moon album in the second half of the set. Here’s the set list (as best as I can remember, forgive me if I’ve forgotten a track);

  • Welcome to the Machine
  • Dogs
  • Echoes
  • Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
  • Arnold Layne
  • Astronomy Domine
  • Keep Talking
  • Another Brick In The Wall
  • Sheep
  • Shine On You Crazy Diamond
  • Learning to Fly
  • Speak To Me
  • Breathe
  • On The Run
  • Time
  • The Great Gig In The Sky
  • Money
  • Us and Them
  • Any Colour You Like
  • Brain Damage
  • Eclipse
  • Wish You Were Here
  • Run Like Hell
  • Comfortably Numb

I guess of the original Floyd, in my opinion it is David Gilmour who is the “heart” of the band, especially in recent years. It was doubt over whether The Pink Floyd Experience could do his vocals and especially his guitar justice that had me expecting to be disappointed. However, front man and lead vocalist Stan Gratkowski was excellent, and lead guitarist Darren Whittaker nailed every single song perfectly. The three female singers in the band also did a superb job with the very demanding vocals in The Great Gig In The Sky – well done ladies.

The lighting and visuals were excellent also. I really couldn’t recommend this more highly, and will be going back to see them next time they are in town. Hurry back!

I think I might go get out my Animals CD!

Edit: A 30km ride on the bike tonight before it got dark. I was worried when I went out that it was going to rain, but fortunately it didn’t.

3 Responses to “Pink Floyd Experience – A Review”

  1. Carla Says:

    God I love Pink Floyd. I love the old record albums with the big square cover that you slide the record in and out of, I just think of all the Pink Floyd album covers like that. Your post reminds me also of a show that I saw this last fall – it was a Kiss tribute band. They were so good, we had such an awesome time!

  2. Jamin Says:

    I got tickets to this coming up on march 29th…is this the same as the Australian Pink Floyd Show? I saw the aussie one and it was absolutely the closest you’ll ever get to the real thing.

  3. Lily Raucci Says:

    What’s up, all the time i used to check webpage posts here early in the break of day, as i enjoy to gain knowledge of more and more.|

Leave a Reply

