Seedy …

Seedy … that’s how I felt this morning. We had visitors for dinner last night, and a big meal, combined with a couple of beers and a few red wines, meant I didn’t quite feel up to getting up for the planned swim this morning.

I did have quite a nice ride with Herb down Beach Rd yesterday morning, only about 30kms, from Port Melbourne down to Hampton for coffee then back.

Tonight I decided to head out for a run and to try and pick up the pace a little bit, to see if I think this 5k race with Voj at Run Melbourne is a good idea or not. I managed to get my 6km loop in just under the 30 minutes, which is faster than I’ve run for a while, but still 30 sec/km over what I’ll need to PB. The calf and knee definitely feel a bit worse for wear when I try and pick up the pace though. I think I’ll just keep plodding along most runs, but chuck in a faster run every now and then and see how I go.

Monthly Summary

Running: 65 km at 5:27 min/km (YTD 240 km at 5:35 min/km)
Cycling: 288 km at 23.8 kms/hr (YTD 2094 km at 24.7 km/hr)
Swimming: 7 swims – 5.8 hours (YTD 13 swims – 11.3 hours)
Other:
13 home workouts (YTD 67)

Another low running month, but the second highest month for the year, and up on the last three months. The lowest month so far this year on the bike too, but still about 20km ahead of my 5000km in 2010 goal (last month I was 150km ahead, so I’ve eaten into my buffer). It’s been hard to get out on the bike due to the inclement weather and dark evenings.

I managed to sustain my return to the pool, and am really enjoying the swimming again and have managed to maintain the frequency of my home workouts.

30.5 hours and 18,601 calories recorded in the training journal for May.

3 Responses to “Seedy …”

  1. JH Says:

    Zero alcohol for me this last month, as well as my third highest running total ever. Feeling smug and self-satisfied.

  2. katsmumblings Says:

    Well done. You burn higher calories per hour than I do – when I put in my weights work etc my average burn per hour goes way down.

  3. jojo Says:

    you are a machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

