Lurgy .. defined

Yes, the lurgy is still lurking (just a head cold I think), as is this dratted skin condition I have, the itching of the rash on my back is driving me insane.

Carla, the term lurgy just means a minor, non-specific illness. It is one of many terms coined by The Goon Show (a superb, ground-breaking British comedy radio show of the 1950s & 1960s, with Spike Milligan, Peter Sellers and Harry Secombe) that have passed into fairly common usage – usually the term used is “the dreaded lurgy”.

I was another 500g heavier at weigh-in this weekend, at 74.4kg. Two weeks in a row now I’ve had a gain like that. I’ll have to put a stop to this pattern. I think the culprit is the lolly jar at work.

Yesterday was the market as usual then a trip down to Geelong to see Adrienne’s mum and my parents. No exercise.

Today I had planned to get up early for a long ride, but it was raining when I woke up so I stayed in bed instead. Slept in until after 9am actually – haven’t done that for a while. I did manage to get out for a ride this afternoon. It was very windy, I managed 42km in about 1:45, not as many kilometres as I wanted today but better than nothing. Then when I got home I gave the bike a good clean and lube. It needed it after quite a few wet rides recently.

5 Responses to “Lurgy .. defined”

  1. jojo Says:

    i blame the ‘dreaded lurgy’ for not getting out early πŸ™‚

  2. Sassycil Says:

    I bought a bike!!!!!

  3. Carla Says:

    Thanks for the definition! πŸ™‚ I slept in today too! It is cold and rainy – you’d never guess that it is June. Hopefully I’ll be able to get in some exercise later like you did if it clears up.

  4. blues buffett Says:

    Hope you get better soon. Have you bought all 25 CD releases of The Goons? Four eps per double disc, available at ABC. “He’s fallen in the water”.

  5. Em Says:

    Aha, now I use the term Lurgy alot, but I didn’t know where it came from.

    I used to use wog alot too but I suppose it become a little un PC, though on an episode of Acropolis Now one of the characters once said “I think I’ve caught an Australian”, which was kind of funny.

Leave a Reply

