Ducks and a buckled wheel …

I headed out first thing this morning for a ride with Herb, and it was real brass monkey weather. Despite two pairs of gloves my hands were numb from the cold within the first 15 minutes. We headed down the Merri Creek Trail from Herb’s place in Essendon, planning to head down the Capital City Trail into the city. However, we had to detour as the trail was flooded – there were ducks swimming on the bike path! So, we headed off onto St Georges Rd and rode into the city on the road. We stopped for coffee at Federation Wharf, and had just ridden past the convention centre on the way home, when somehow I managed to put my foot through the spokes of my front wheel. I was negotiating a corner and somehow my foot came out of my cleat and went into the front wheel. I didn’t fall off, but have managed to bend a couple of spokes slightly and the wheel has a small buckle in it. It was okay to ride home, with the front brake released to stop it rubbing on the buckled wheel. So, it looks like another trip to the local bike shop this week. Anyway, the ride was shortened on the way into the city due to the detour off the Capital City Trail, and on the way home due to the buckled wheel. So, only 25km, but this was enough to clock up 2,500km for the year, so on track for my 5,000km for the year goal, seeing as we’re not quite half way through the year!

Adrienne and I had lunch at Poyntons in Essendon, which was very noisy, but nice (I had some delicious lentil soup). We also had a scrumptious Wagyu topside roast, which we bought at the market yesterday, in the barbeque for tea tonight. Seriously the nicest bit of beef I’ve had for a very long time. Whilst it was cooking I also squeezed in a home workout!

5 Responses to “Ducks and a buckled wheel …”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    I cant believe you didn’t fall off after doing that! I think you are very lucky!

  2. Eat Em Says:

    Well done on 2,500 YTD …. bummer about the spokes / buckle

    Bring on TDF & matchsticks to keep the eyes open !!!!

    Eat Em

  3. JH Says:

    I think your subconscious mind was trying to tell you to stop cycling and go somewhere warm.

  4. Carla Says:

    Good thing you didn’t get hurt. Hope you get that bike fixed soon! You are quite amazing to keep those workouts up in that cold weather! đŸ™‚

  5. Sassycil Says:

    I have ordered the Primal Blueprint from bookdepository.co.uk. Can’t get it anywhere in an actual shop, which just adds to the mystique.

Leave a Reply

