Les dernières nuits avec Le Tour

That’s “Late nights with Le Tour”, and I think they’re taking their toll. At least that’s what I’m blaming for my lack of exercise the last few days, that and the crappy weather.

Stayed up right to the end of last nights mountain stage, something I have to admit I haven’t managed every night. So sad to see Cadel Evans struggle last night, riding with his fractured elbow, but good to see Lance Armstrong have a pretty good stage after his 4 crashes in the previous stage. I have to admit to being in complete awe of these guys. How they can climb those mountains, and descend at speeds of up to 80 km/hr, and just ride 180-200kms for so many days in a row. It mesmerises me watching Le Tour. The cycling, the amazing French countryside, Phil & Paul (definitely the best sports commentators around IMHO) – it’s a great package. Getting over there to see it one day is definitely on my bucket list. It seems that Contador might be a fairly safe bet now, but personally I’m hoping someone can beat him.

Staying up late each night is also increasing my food and red wine intake!

Just a half hour home workout tonight.

I have a meeting from 10:30 to midnight tonight, but one where I’ll mainly just be listening, so should be able to manage to watch Le Tour and enjoy a glass of shiraz at the same time.

8 Responses to “Les dernières nuits avec Le Tour”

  1. JH Says:

    I’m enjoying the tour, more than the world cup. The only thing I don’t like is Gabriel Gate (oh, and always falling asleep in the middle of it!).

    BTW – I translate that as “The last few nights with the Tour”. See http://translate.google.com/

    • Andrew(AJH) Says:

      Oh well, French never was my strong point, both translations work for me! I don’t mind Gabriel, but think it’s a bit silly dressing him up as his “French gendarme brother”.

  2. kathryn Says:

    I wouldn’t trust google translator either. It’s not the best.

    Maybe you need an exercise bike, so you can watch it and exercise at the same time — and also feel like you are really there!

    • Andrew(AJH) Says:

      We do have an exercise bike which I use a little but don’t like it much compared to the real thing. And anyway, by the time Le Tour is on I’ve already switched from exercise to red wine and chocolate mode!

  3. Carla Says:

    I called my mom in Toronto today and she couldn’t talk to me on the phone because they were watching the Tour de France! Too funny!!! I said haven’t you ever heard of pvr?!! LOL! 😉 Moi aussi, je parle francais! Je suis Quebecoise!!!

  4. Eat Em Says:

    I have skipped one or two of the flat ‘sprint’ finish stages for sleep .. the mountains are where the real racing happens …
    The stage where Evans lost yellow was massive – more to come from Sunday nite …

    Now where did I put those matchsticks .. ?

  5. jojo Says:

    its a rule that if you stay up late you have a glass of vin isnt it? well its my rule

  6. Em Says:

    I can never make it past 1130, even on the weekend 😦

    I was gutted for Cadel but he has a pretty fantastic attitude which is a real credit to him.

    I would rather Contador than Schleck, AS comes across as a bit full of himself, he said after Cadel lost the jersey the next day that he never saw him as a threat, not a very respectful thing to say about the World Champ!

Leave a Reply

