Run Melbourne 2010 – 5km

The 5km race at today’s Run Melbourne was the latest start, scheduled for 10:10am, so I didn’t have to get up too early and was able to have a leisurely breakfast before driving into the city. I got into Federation Square with an hour or so to spare and hung around there for a while because it was so cold I didn’t want to take my jacket off and check my bag into the baggage area. However I soon decided that it was probably better to get a little bit cold and get a reasonable starting spot, so when I heard the 10km race was nearly cleared the starting area I headed down to the start area, took a little warm up run, and stretched out the calves.

StartToFinish are the event organisers for Run Melbourne, and as usual they did a great job today, kudos to them!

I joined the front section of the start area (which was for those planning on finishing in less than 30 minutes), and was only about 4 or 5 rows from the front. I am constantly amazed at the people who don’t understand the concept of self-seeding (ie the slower you are the further back in the start area you should be). There were a lot of people in the front of the start area who were (without wishing to be rude) not going to go close to a 30 minute finish.

I really didn’t know how I was going to go today, but was quietly confident that I could improve my (fairly soft) 5km PB (this was only my 3rd 5km race). I had to run under 4:39 min/km pace to reduce my PB.

The race started exactly at the scheduled time and we headed off down St Kilda Road. Only 20 metres after the start I nearly ran into the back of a bloke who was plainly planning to walk and was just waving at the bloke with the camera. I hate to say, but in my frustration I gave him a bit of a shove out of the way as I went past.

I headed out fairly fast, but slowed as the first climb of the day started. The first kilometre beeped at me after 4:27 and I was feeling okay, but I started to doubt myself a little as I headed up the climb that makes up the second half of kilometre two. Congestion slowed us a bit as we turned left into Anderson St, then another small climb to the 2km marker. The lap beep told me the second kilometre had taken me 4:37. I didn’t try and sprint down the Anderson St hill, just used it to catch my breath a bit, and the third kilometer (which was largely downhill) was definitely the easiest of the race, and took me 4:29.

The fourth and fifth kilometres were a lot more crowded as we hit the end of the 10km race entrants, so there was a bit of weaving in and out, with a couple of bad congestion points as we hairpinned onto Batman Avenue and across the MCG footbridge. Kilometre 4 was the slowest of the race at 4:46, mainly due to congestion and the small climb of the footbridge.

Kilometre 5 was less congested, but I really didn’t need the climb up the William Barrack Bridge, it hurt, and I was very glad when I reached the top, could see the finish line and that it was all downhill from here! Anyway, I did my best attempt at a sprint finish and crossed the line struggling for breath and feeling like I might actually be sick, but that last kilometre had taken me 4:33, for a total (unofficial) time of 22:54, a 21 second personal best.

We’ll have to wait for Tuesday for the official times to be published to actually declare it a PB, but I’m very happy with the result.

This was only my second run for the month, and the last one was 9 days ago, so maybe the best preparation is no running?

My state at the end, and the fact that my average heart rate was 172 bpm (102% of my supposed maximum according to the 220 minus your age formula), I think show that it was a good effort today.

No concerns about the course distance today (like there was at last years Melbourne Marathon 5km event) – my Garmin measured the run at 5.00km exactly – again kudos to the event organisers for this too!

Caught up with Cilla & Ian, Shells, Kat, Tony, David & Bernie and a few other Coolrunners for a drink at The Transport afterwards.

Edit: Just got my SMS from Run Melbourne with my official time and am happy to report that it was two seconds faster than I’d measured, at 22:52, so officially a 23 second PB. My overall place was 91st, not sure how many that’s out of though.

12 Responses to “Run Melbourne 2010 – 5km”

  1. sassydrcil Says:

    Good work today, Andrew, and good to see you again.

  2. Em Says:

    Fab work, especially on what is essentially a pretty crappy 5km course (in my opinion anyway), so an extra pat on the back.

    Don’t worry, I probably would have hip and shouldered that guy on my way past, walkers UP THE BACK please!!!

  3. katsmumblings Says:

    Well done on the PB. Was nice to catch up after the run.

  4. Beki Says:

    Congratulations on the PB 🙂

  5. Sara Says:

    Great work Andrew- I was there for the start of the half, but couldn’t stay awake for the others. I saw people starting in the first wave of the HM who were walking when they got to me, a mere 500m from the start!

  6. blues buffett Says:

    Great run Andrew!
    I was right about the post though, wasn’t I???

  7. AndrewENZ Says:

    That’s pretty awesome (except for shoving some Sunday ambler!) Well done.

  8. JH Says:

    Great work Andrew. Also, I don’t hold it against you for shoving that guy. There should be more of it!

  9. kathryn Says:

    Nice work, Andrew 🙂

    I never get the self-seeding thing either. As a slow runner, I’d rather be at the back passing a few ppl than at the front, in ppl’s way and getting passed by everyone!

  10. shells Says:

    Congrats on the PB! I too scored a couple of seconds on official time, so I got the sub 65 that I was after! 😀

  11. sassydrcil Says:

    I didn’t get an SMS 😦
    I think if you are silly enough to start out the front of a field when you are slow, you need to accept whatever shoves come your way.

  12. jojo Says:

    gotta remember AJH that HRM formulae(particualrly that one) are based on AVERAGEs, which means some pple are above and some below. i cn do an endurnce rep-maintaining a HR of 176-180-which is way higher that “EXPECTED” . if you want a HR guide, google a sub max HR test(running wise) or max Hr test
    SUPER DUPER well done on the massive massive PB!!!!!!!!! woohoo.. i wanna say i told you so!

Leave a Reply

