Soft PB …

Whilst happy at the new 5km PB, I have to agree with Tigerboy’s comment he made at The Transport yesterday, that it is still a bit soft.

I think that the fact that the pace (min/km) for both my 8km and 10km PBs are both faster than my pace during yesterdays 5km, is pretty strong evidence of the softness of my 5km PB.

I used the McMillan Running Calculator tonight, which allows you to put in your PB time for one distance, and it then estimates your potential PB time for other distances (as well as recommending various training paces etc).  Here are the results;

  • based on 4km PB, 5km estimated time = 21:05
  • based on 8km PB, 5km estimated time = 21:38
  • based on 10km PB, 5km estimated time = 21:11
  • based on Half Marathon PB, 5km estimated time = 22:25

The last one seems acheivable, but possibly not the first three, but as I said 22:52 is still a bit soft.

I am feeling surprisingly good after yesterdays run, very little soreness, I even managed to get out for a slower (5:42 min/km) 8km recovery run tonight.

3 Responses to “Soft PB …”

  1. kathryn Says:

    It’s always easier to get a PB at the smaller runs, not so much ducking and weaving. Give it a go 🙂

  2. AndrewENZ Says:

    I think you’ve got a sub 22 in you.

  3. JH Says:

    Agree with Kathryn. Why not try one of the Sri Chinmoy runs? Perhaps the Princes Park run coming up.

Leave a Reply

