My first iPad post

I’ve been reading and commenting on your blogs a lot on the iPad, but this is the first post I’ve actually written on it. I was a little unsure about buying the iPad because it was a significant amount of money, but after the first week I have to say that I really love it. I have my work email and calendar synced to it now, which is great, and there have been many instances in the first week where I’ve wanted to quickly look something up and it is so great to have something that you can pick up and it is almost instantly on.

I’ve bought an app called DocsToGo which adds Word / Excel editing capability too, which seems to work fine.

I was going to buy an Amazon Kindle a while back but didn’t, but have downloaded the free Kindle iPad app and bought my first two e-books – both for about $10, so cheaper than the real thing. Reading the books is great for me too, the larger font size (which is variable) is so much easier on my aging eyes.

The built-in GPS in the 3G model adds to the maps function, it’ll be interesting to see how it functions as our street map on our holiday next week.

There are just so many applications out there, it’s fun just browsing through the app store too.

Apple seem to have a knack for creating stuff that just works so well.

6 Responses to “My first iPad post”

  1. Liz T Says:

    Its sounds great! I have to admit I am a little upset that work has opened that up for Apple and not Android yet 😦

    Do you have other Apple products? So far we have been able to avoid them other than one impulse buy (Nano) that I actually picked up with some left over Australian dollars at the Sydney airport of all places…. I ended up selling it online after not using it for over a year… my non-ipod mp3 player works just fine 😉

    A little bit harder to find an non-Apple Ipad equivalant…. but I am sure there will be one soon enough…

  2. offthelongrun Says:

    Is the editing of word/excel etc easy? Can you format, write formulae, save?

  3. JH Says:

    Except for iphone 4 you mean? The little matter of calls dropping out if you hold the phone wrong.

  4. Em Says:

    I’ve had a macbook for a couple of years now, never given me a moments bother 😉

  5. AndrewENZ Says:

    Sigh…drool.

  6. jojo Says:

    oooh sounds like someone is a FAN!!!!

Leave a Reply

