A slow run and a fast ride …

As I didn’t arrive home until Sunday night, I missed this weeks weigh-in (Saturday morning each week is my official weigh-in). So I made this morning my official day for this week, and was 74.3kg, so nearly 3kg heavier than the previous week. Still within the <75kg target though, so I shouldn’t complain, and I’m sure it’ll drop once the normal exercise and eating patterns resume.

This morning I had my first run with Deb for 6 weeks, as sickness, work schedules and leave have gotten in our way. After the week on the Sunshine Coast, I really noticed the cold this morning, but it was a good run. It was slightly longer than usual (at just under 8.5km) due to a bike path closure/detour, but a bit slow though, at just under 6 min/km pace.

After work I decided to take the bike for a spin. I nearly thought that I was going to be stymied when I got the bike down off the rack and noticed that the back tyre was flat. I pumped it up and it appeared to stay hard, so I decided to go for a ride, but just do loops around home, so I wouldn’t be stranded miles away should it deflate. Anyway, it didn’t let me down and I managed a quick (29.7 km/hr) 22 km ride before darkness fell.

So, I’m feeling a bit like I’m back into the exercise routine.

Whilst away I finished my first e-book on the iPad. I wasn’t quite sure how I’d like reading on the iPad, but it is quite good. I find holding the iPad actually easier than a book, as is lightly touching the screen to turn pages. I also like the ability to choose text size (good for aging eyes), and the ability to change to white text on a black background is good for night reading without the room light on without being too disturbing for your partner. The first book I read on my iPad was “In A Single Bound” by Sarah Reinertsen. Sarah was the first female amputee to complete the Hawaii Ironman, and also a competitor in TV show “The Amazing Race”. Her story was pretty inspiring and an enjoyable read. Now I am reading “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest”, the third book in Stieg Larsson’s Millenium trilogy. Both books cost me about $12 too, another e-book advantage.

Another “discovery” made on the trip was Clare Reynolds. Clare is a singer from Noosa. We heard her performing at the Eumundi Markets and bought her CD, “Inside My Head”. As it was the only CD we had on the trip, we listened to it a lot in the car. She has a really beautiful voice and has written some great songs. Check out the video below of her song “Don’t Give Up” which was recently featured on US TV show “Private Practice”.

2 Responses to “A slow run and a fast ride …”

  1. jojo Says:

    uh oh, im about to go away, i dont want to put on weight…. i always do though 😦

  2. Em Says:

    I reckon “I pumped it up and it appeared to stay hard” is going to result in some extra traffic to your blog via google 😉

Leave a Reply

