Melbourne HM – 9054

Well, my Melbourne Marathon (Half Marathon) race kit arrived today, race number 9054. I guess that makes it real now, and scarily there is only 59 days to go. Hopefully the weather will improve and I can start getting some running into my legs.

No run today though, but I did manage an hour of exercise. A fairly intense home workout after tea tonight.

Scarlett, you asked in your comment yesterday “How do you possibly get a graph like that?”. Not sure if it was a serious question or not, but in case it was, here’s my answer.

My training journal is in an Excel spreadsheet (see snapshot below), where I record each training session. I record day, date & time, duration, calories burnt, max heart rate, average heart rate, category (Bike, Run, Home, Swim etc), distance, shoes worn (for a run), month (to allow easy pivot table on month) and pace.

Then at the end of each week I add up certain fields. The weekly total for duration and calories is what was on the graph yesterday. The dotted lines show the targets for my annual goals.

4 Responses to “Melbourne HM – 9054”

  1. Scarlett Says:

    Oh man I want that spreadsheet. I think recording all that stuff is the one thing I’m a bit OCD about. I have, like, five different things I fill out every morning after I exercise or eat or weigh myself etc. Nicely done, putting it all in like that. I wouldn’t even know where to start!

  2. Alex Says:

    Hi Andrew,
    Did you know that you can group the data by weeks or months in your pivot tables without having to have the totals on this spreadsheet? You’ll need 2 tables however as it can’t sort by months and weeks at the same time.

    Alex

  3. sassydrcil Says:

    I have downgraded to the 10km and am aiming for a good time, good being <65 mins. A few aches and pains though, so I am going to the physio and getting it sorted. But most importantly, I will be at the pub afterward.

  4. jojo Says:

    yeah i hve a spreadhseet- i love playing with it… i am a geek .. lol

Leave a Reply

