Viruses on Apple Macs?

I know there’s a few of you readers out there who have had Apple Macs for a while. Can you tell me if viruses are as much of an issue with Macs as they are with Windows PCs? If so, what antivirus software do you use or recommend?

A 23km bike ride between work and darkness tonight.

9 Responses to “Viruses on Apple Macs?”

  1. offthelongrun Says:

    Hi Andrew,

    I’ve had a mac for 6 months now and do not have ant virus protection (VP) – not sure if that’s smart or not, but atm I’ve had zero problems – to be honest, I’ll never return to a PC.
    My BIL has had a mac for 3 years and also doesn’t have any VP and has also had nil issues.
    I’m not recommending going without, but I believe most viruses are made for windows not macs.
    Alex

  2. Scarlett Says:

    I’ve been a mac user for about eight years now and no mac issues- so far as I know viruses just aren’t made for macs. What sort of problem are you having?

    • Andrew Says:

      Not me, my son. He has a load of weird emails in his Hotmail sent folder that he didn’t send.

      • Scarlett Says:

        That sort of virus is an email virus, not so much a computer virus. I know a lot of people, including myself, that it happened to. At this point I’d just get him to change his password to something really secure and keep on using the email.

  3. South Beach Steve Says:

    All computers can get viruses, even my favorite operating system which I use at home: Linux. They aren’t as frequent on a Mac though, which is why you don’t hear so much about them. That is partially because Macs are designed a little bit more securely, but it is also because they aren’t the big target.

    Sorry, I don’t have any suggestions on an av though.

  4. kathryn Says:

    My sister has a mac – no anti virus s/ware and no probs. The real reason is that it’s the mac users who create the viruses (so they can act all superior).

    Ha ha, just kidding — as if mac users would know how to program a virus πŸ˜›

  5. katsmumblings Says:

    Was talking to a tech about this the other day. He said there are about 160 Mac viruses and about 125,000 PC viruses.

    We have used Macs in the business I worked in for 22 years and had some problems about 15 years ago (the Mac dealer kept giving us viruses) but nothing since.

  6. Bill Wallace Says:

    Hi Andrew

    Have had macs here now for 8 years. No AV software. No issues. I’d agree with Scarlett, it seems like more of an email virus than Mac virus.

    @Kathryn: er, we ARE superior πŸ˜‰

    Andrew, any chance of the Cats beating the Blues this weekend? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  7. rainycamp Says:

    Andrew,
    I have used Macs since 1987. I had only one virus problem in the 1990s, and zapped that quickly. Currently, I use VirusScan for Mac by McAfee. I’m lucky, I get it for free through my employer. I update the virus definitions on it monthly.

Leave a Reply

