Election Day

Seems like it’s going to be close, doesn’t it. This election was the first time I’ve ever had to queue for a long time to cast my vote. I also seem to remember that in previous years we were directed to election officers based on surname (eg A-K here, L-S there etc) which didn’t happen at my polling booth today. Wonder if these two things are linked?

At weekly weigh-in this morning I was 71.8kg, 100g up on last week, so holding very steady, well within the 75kg goal.

We made our usual trip to the Victoria Market this morning, but Chris came with us too as we dropped his car off for a service on the way.

After lunch I went and visited Gareth at Essendon Cycles, my current favorite local bike shop. Gareth is a great example of how being friendly, helpful and knowledgeable can really engender customer loyalty. I first went to his shop at the recommendation of a friend, and have received great service every time I’ve been there. There are at least 4 bike shops closer to home than Essendon Cycles, but I’ll drive the extra distance to get good, friendly service. It is probably no wonder that Gareth is always smiling when I’m in his shop, because usually I leave with a much lighter wallet than when I went in. Today was no different. I needed some tubes (due to the recent punctures), some new cleats for my bike shoes (the old ones were very worn and starting to slip around a bit) and some new Zeiner gloves. My current gloves are the same brand and I’ve been more than happy with them, but they are three and a half years old and pretty worn out. The new pair has gel cushioning in the heel and palm of the hands which will be nice too. I’m a full-fingered glove guy too, I find the fingerless ones very uncomfortable.

After telling Gareth about my disaster last week (breaking off the valve stem when fixing the puncture), I also let him talk me into (he didn’t have to try too hard) buying a compressed CO2 cartridge based tyre inflator.

Before heading out for a ride this afternoon I did a tyre wipe down, which I do every 3-4 rides, where I get a wet sponge and clean the tyres so I can check for any tyre damage and anything in the tyre. I’m glad I did because I found a small piece of very thin wire embedded in the back tyre which I had to use pliers to pull out. I’m sure if I hadn’t checked there’s a fair chance it would have been pushed further into the tyre, resulting in a puncture during today’s ride. Whilst I’m sort of looking forward to using the CO2 inflator, I really would like it if it goes unused for a really long time. My ride today was almost exactly like yesterdays. A slightly different route, but cold, windy, a bit of rain and 27km long.

There is a bike expo on at the show grounds this weekend, but it’s almost $20 for adult entry, so I don’t think I’ll bother. Is it just me, or does this seem a bit rich for what is really a big bike shop?

As I finished last night’s post off in a negative fashion telling you about something I don’t like, here’s a couple of things I really like;

  • The lovely girl who sells us yoghurt at the market every week, she has a smile that lights the place up,
  • Green and Blacks Organic Dark Chocolate (85% Cocoa) – I just tried it tonight for the first time, it’s awesome.
Oh, and I’ve decided to have a bit of a wine break for a while. I think having a bottle of red open and drinking every night is probably not the best, so will try not to open one for a couple of weeks at least.
5 Responses to “Election Day”

  1. kathryn Says:

    Most expos etc are just ppl flogging stuff and they charge to get in… they should be paying us!

  2. Sara Says:

    I bought a CO2 inflator in 2008 and haven’t had to use it yet! (just showing off). Good idea on the wine- I have been knocking off a couple of bottles every week and put the brakes on last week and I think it will help in October!

  3. offthelongrun Says:

    I was in the same boat, except I swapped the wine for beer!

  4. sassydrcil Says:

    I am going to have an alcohol free week as well, I think.
    I think the money you spend on your pushy is well spent, you certainly spend a lot of time on it.

  5. jojo Says:

    i should try that too..mybe next week…lol

Leave a Reply

