First ride with my Edge 500

Well, I managed to get out for a ride tonight to test out the new Garmin Edge 500 bike computer.

The display screen is configurable with up to 8 data fields, and you can have up to 3 different screens, which you can switch between manually or have on auto-scroll. I decided to try and configure the main data screen with 8 fields, so that I wouldn’t have to switch or have it on auto-scroll.

I added the ride time, time of day, distance covered, current speed, average speed, maximum speed, gradient and elevation to the main data screen. I found that it was still very readable with the full eight fields displayed.

Anyway, here’s a bit more information than you probably want about tonight’s ride, but I promise it’s only because it’s the maiden voyage for the new computer!

Time: 00:54:49
Distance: 22.60 km
Avg Speed: 24.7 km/hr
Max Speed: 50.8 km/hr
Max Gradient: 23% (I had to go up some steep hills to test it out)

2 Responses to “First ride with my Edge 500”

  1. Tish Says:

    I love hearing about this. I’m seriously beginning to want one and it helps to hear what you have to say about it.

  2. jojo Says:

    gota love the gadgets!

Leave a Reply

