Keeps me sane …

Some days I think that it is only my exercise hour that maintains my sanity. I’m ready to leave work on time every night, eagerly anticipating a run or a ride. Am I the only one who feels like this?

Tonight it was a ride again. As I was leaving work it was raining, but by the time I got home it had stopped and the sun was out. So, the road surface was still wet, but at least it wasn’t raining. I went out determined to ride for at least an hour, and ended up with 27.2km in 1:01.

Mark, I have been riding with exactly the same crowd as you recently (me, myself and I)!

A question for you other roadies out there. Is it uncool to add one of those removable rear splashguards on a road bike? I’m seriously considering it. I’m sick of getting that stripe down my back and a wet backside.

9 Responses to “Keeps me sane …”

  1. Sara Says:

    Nope- the booze keeps me sane! Okay, a good run help occasionally. I don’t seem to get on the bike as much as I was before though- hopefully the weather smartens up soon!

  2. Louise Says:

    I’m not a roadie, but when I see how much crud the rear splashguard collects, I don’t care how uncool it looks. They make a huge difference.

  3. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    I don’t know splashguard etiquette, but I’d rather be uncool than to have the wet backside. On the other hand, that stripe is like a badge of honor, of sorts. Well earned. 🙂

    Oh, and I agree on the exercise. Many’s the time I end one workout already planning the next one. I love that!

  4. Tish Says:

    I’m with the other commenters on the splash guard. I can’t imagine that a stripe or wet britches is what the cool crowd aspires to! Go for it, especially if you’re macho enough to ride in (or just after) the rain!

  5. Andy Says:

    Hmmmm, how do I put this, well here goes – no feckin’ way man. Totally uncool. If you ride in the wet you have to show the stripe of dedication

  6. AndrewE Says:

    I’ve got a splashguard and a toddler seat on my bike. Having said that I gave up on cool a long time ago!

    And yes, I live for my daily run sometimes.

  7. Carla Says:

    I also need my workouts to keep me sane. Whenever I’m getting cranky my husband “suggests” that I go out and get some exercise!!! 🙂

  8. Eat Em Says:

    Don’t now about cool or otherwise but I will pass on the splash guard …
    As Michelle would say …”It is all about the look …” 🙂

  9. Pip Says:

    Yeah, a splash guard on a roadie is not cool! A splash guard on a commuter bike though – necessary!

Leave a Reply

