Geelong

At weekly weigh-in this morning I was 72kg exactly, so well within my <75kg goal still … travelling along nicely weight-wise at the moment.

We started the day off as usual at the Victoria Market doing our weekly fresh food shopping, it was largely uneventful except for when I dropped a punnet of blueberries. Fortunately they went into our shopping bags, so we just had to unpack to carefully retrieve them, they are too expensive to waste!

Resting up today, exercise-wise, as tomorrow is the Degani Kinglake Ride, so I’ll be in the saddle for 5 hours or so, that will be about the weeks exercise done! So, today a bit of maintenance on the bike (just basic stuff, oil the chain and other bits that need it, check and pump up the tyres etc) and a little pottering around the garden.

Tish, Geelong is the city that I spent most of my childhood in. We moved to Geelong, from the UK when I was 9 years old. My parents, and my wife’s mother still live there. Geelong sits on Port Phillip Bay, about 75kms south-west of Melbourne (where I live now). The name Geelong is derived from the native Australian Aboriginal language.

Also, the Geelong Football Club (or the Geelong Cats as they are known) compete in the Australian Football League (the highest level of Australian Rules Football) and they are the current premiers, having won the Grand Final two times out of the last three years. They played in a semi-final last night and thankfully smashed the opposition 135 – 66. This puts them one more win away from playing in the 2010 Grand Final, but next week will be a much tougher game.

To answer your other question, I couldn’t do any better job of describing what a “hoon” is than the Wikipedia definition, so here it is;

Hoon is a derogatory term used in Australia and New Zealand, to refer to a young person who engages in loutish, anti-social behaviour. In particular, it is used to refer to one who drives a car in a manner which is anti-social by the standards of contemporary society, that is, fast, noisily and/or dangerously.

Recently, in the state of Victoria they have actually enacted “anti-hoon” laws, which can result in cars being seized from offenders, and in the case of repeat offenders the cars can be crushed. Sadly though it doesn’t seem to be helping much.

Lee, are you suggesting I should act my age? 🙂 Gotta have fun when you can I reckon!

Scarlett, yes I use my iPad every day, probably a couple of hours a day at least. I hardly use my laptop at home now. It is much easier to use the iPad. It’s fun!

Anyway, wish me luck for tomorrow, I think it’s going to be tough I really haven’t done any long training rides, or hills recently. Hopefully I’ll have enough energy to post a ride report tomorrow night.

5 Responses to “Geelong”

  1. sassydrcil Says:

    Great luck andrew (it’s better than good luck).
    Hope the saddle doesn’t get too sore.

  2. morseyruns Says:

    Have a great ride Andrew- very jealous of you out there in those hills!

  3. Em Says:

    Enjoy the ride, the weather is looking good

  4. kathryn Says:

    Enjoy the ride. Nice definition of hoons. I think the problem of the car crushing laws is when you have parents that get all indignant about it and help the lil darlings buy a new car. I know if my son got hooning, he’d be walking for the rest of his life (actually he wouldn’t get caught and he does walk now… lol. cos he’s never got his licence).

  5. Tish Says:

    Andrew, thanks for the explanations! I’ll try to keep up! Go Geelong Cats!!

Leave a Reply

