Degani Kinglake Ride 2010

Up and at ’em early this morning, out of bed when the alarm went off at 5am, showered, breakfasted and loaded up the bike and all the gear in time for a 6am departure. The drive to Whittlesea didn’t take as long as I had thought, so I was there early enough to get a great parking spot, and then had some time to kill, so I was glad I’d taken my latest Runner’s World magazine in the car.

All riders in the 120km event were supposed to be at the start line by 7:15am, which I duly was. It was quite cold standing around outside though, waiting for the start and I got so cold I was shivering. With seeded starts (based on your anticipated ride time), and groups of 50 or so riders being let go in mini-waves for safety, I didn’t get across the start line until just after 8am.

As I went around the first corner, only a few hundred metres from the start, I felt a bit of a twinge from my right knee and thought “oh no, that isn’t a good sign”, but fortunately, other than a few other similar twinges through the day it was okay.

For those of you reading from overseas, this ride travels through a lot of the area that was devastated by fires in February 2009. It is great to see all the regrowth, it amazes me how resilient the countryside is after fires.

The ride went well, no punctures or mechanical failures, and only minor complaints from the aging rider’s body! Mainly the knee and the quads (which are still feeling it now).

This picture will show you the sort of roads / terrain we had for most of the ride.

It is a hilly ride, with lots of undulating roads, and two major climbs. Overall elevation gain measured by my Garmin for the ride was 1,327m. The elevation profile below highlights the hilly nature of the ride.

I managed the climbs okay, didn’t try to hurry, just plodded along steadily, and the downhills were fun of course, especially the one right near the end.

I didn’t really have a time goal as such, but was thinking around 5 hours, so I was pretty happy with the 4:29:52 I measured (that’s ride time, not including refreshment stops). The course was a little shorter than the advertised 120km, coming in at 115.2km according to me.

Average speed for the ride was 25.6 km/hr, maximum speed was 65.3 km/hr.

I took a few of the Cadel Evans Mountain Mix energy bars with me and some jelly snakes. I also got a cup of lollies at the second last refreshment stop. I didn’t touch the snakes during the ride and have polished them off, along with the left over lollies, in the car on the way home, and now I feel sick ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, that’s another event done and dusted. Very well organised again by Supersprint, but I think I like the Great Ocean Otway Classic ride better.

11 Responses to “Degani Kinglake Ride 2010”

  1. JH Says:

    I used to like riding up that area in the world. Sounds like a great day.

  2. sassydrcil Says:

    well done, Andrew. Looks like a tough one. And I wouldn’t worry about your age, you can run rings around most people half your age, from a fitness point of view. Yes, you can.

  3. katsmumblings Says:

    Good going on the race – the hills would have been really tough. Great time too.

  4. morseyruns Says:

    So jealous Andrew- what a great ride! I did it ages ago- might have to have a look for next year.

  5. Bill Wallace Says:

    Nice work , Andrew. Good climbs in that graph. My FBH has just started cycling so it’ll be interesting to see how it goes. The 65km/h end must have been a blast!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Lee Says:

    Fantastic riding Andrew ๐Ÿ™‚ On my way to work this morning, just after 6am, I saw a few cars going down Plenty Road with bikes on the top of them, would they have been going to that event??

    And no I wasn’t implying you should act your age, I was implying we should both act our age!! I think I play Where’s Wally more than my 6 year old even though I downloaded it for him, pmsl!!

  7. offthelongrun Says:

    That looks one mean hill at around the 35km mark – well done and great post

  8. South Beach Steve Says:

    I am glad tor ead the ride went well. When you mentioned the twinge in your knee, I got worried for a second. I am certainly glad to read it didn’t manifest into trouble.

  9. Scarlett Says:

    Congratulations for getting in under your goal time! Four and a half hours… the only thing that comes to mind for me is how much my ass would hurt! I thought of you at my run. Well done again, you did great. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Tish Says:

    Great ride, Andrew. Thanks for the map–I love seeing the route. And those hills, OMG, my legs are sore just looking at them! I did a little metric conversion math and figure you biked about 72 miles–more than twice my ride of a week ago. I need inspiration. Thanks! Once in a while, my knees feel a little sore when I bike. I wouldn’t think the biking would bother them nearly as much as the running, but who knows? I just keep going and they settle down. Good job!

  11. jojo Says:

    sounds like you did awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

