Diclofenac

I’m guessing there will be a few mentions of this news story in blogs I read today, as I’m sure I’m not the only runner out there who takes a few diclofenac based medications! This story, based on a Danish study says that taking this common anti-inflammatory pain-killer medication, such as Voltaren, can result in an 86% increase in the risk of stroke. I was first prescribed these with my knee issues a while back and ever since have taken them to rid myself of my running niggles quite regularly. That will have to change now, will have to rely solely on the ice pack.

Or, perhaps we should think about more natural ways to reduce inflammation. Check out this article from Marks Daily Apple for some ideas. Are there any of you out there that take a fish oil supplement that you would recommend? I’ve been thinking about it for a while, this might be the nudge I needed.

I had planned to get up and run again this morning, but once again failed miserably and stayed in bed. So, again the exercise for the day was a bike ride after work. Tonight’s ride was a bit over 21km at about 26 km/hr.

I have to get up at 5am to attend a teleconference tomorrow morning, so maybe after that is finished I will feel motivated to go for a run before breakfast.

7 Responses to “Diclofenac”

  1. Louise Says:

    lies, damned lies, and statistics. An 86% increase of bugger-all is still bugger-all. If your “starting risk” of stroke is 1% and taking Voltaren increases that to 1.86%, then it’s still worth taking that risk if the payoff is pain-free knees.

    Just take the hype with a grain of salt, ’tis all.

  2. morseyruns Says:

    I am thinking that it is the nudge I need to stop taking them- I take them all the time with plenty of quickeze so they can’t be good. I am just so sporadic with the fish oil. Good luck getting out for a ride tomorrow- I am trying to convince myself to run then ride to the station- I will if you will!

  3. kathryn Says:

    I rarely take painkillers. I am particularly wary when it comes to exercise related injuries after using one of the gel types and thinking I was fine to run – then doing even worse injury to myself because it was the painkillers masking the pain.

  4. Scarlett Says:

    This is the fish oil I take:
    http://www.chemistwarehouse.com.au/product.asp?id=48916&pname=Bioglan+Select+Omega+3+Fish+Oil+1000mg+Capsules+400

    And it doesn’t give me any of those fish burps or anything. Easy to swallow, take one with every meal.

  5. jojo Says:

    ughghg 5am

  6. sassydrcil Says:

    fish oil is good, should be taken regularly.
    I agree with Louise though.
    The occasional anti-inflam probably won’t hurt.

  7. Em Says:

    Yeah, what Louise said, someone else pointed out the same thing to me yesterday, I ‘aint going to stop taking them.

    Though I do know that ginger is an anti inflam and I drink about 3 cups of ginger tea a day, only because I love it, not sure how much is needed to be effective though.

Leave a Reply

