Two’s company …

Another late night last night, not due to work this time though, this time it was due to being “Dad’s Taxi” for Chris. He went to see Metallica last night at Rod Laver Arena. When I asked him how it was, his response was “so good that he was speechless”. He got a really close spot in the standing room area, from his photo’s he took, it looked almost close enough to touch. He also got a guitar pick from James Hetfield, so for such a huge Metallica fan as Chris is, that was a real treat. I have a ticket for one of their shows in November, so I’m looking forward to that.

I’ve stolen the title for today’s post from Alex (because I couldn’t think of a better one). Alex and I met up this morning for a run. I love meeting fellow bloggers (or my “internet friends” as my wife likes to call them). As I said to Alex this morning, it has amazed me how close you can get to people who you sometimes never meet, and how much strength and support you can get from them. I know that during my weight loss journey, and now into my years of maintenance the support and strength from all of you has been a major factor in my success! Actually meeting them though is obviously even better! Anyway, it turns out Alex and I seem to have a fair amount in common; both poms, similar age, live close, support the same Premier League soccer team (although the less said about that at the moment the better), and even a similar running pace. This morning we ran the same 8km loop that Deb and I normally do, although starting and ending in a different spot. It was a great run, at a very “conversational” pace of about 5:44 min/km.

As I said above, it is really great to draw that strength from fellow bloggers, but even more satisfying is when others give comments on their blogs that indicate they are getting inspiration from you. Bill did so today for me – thanks mate, I appreciate the call-out!

I have had a little bit of a niggly knee after the run today, but nothing too serious. I think it might be because since I had the back pain a while back I have stopped doing my home workouts, including my specific vmo/glute strengthening exercises and my stretching and self-massage routine. So, I got back into that tonight with a short home workout after tea.

It’s the end of the training journal week tonight, and after adding today’s two events, I seem to have recorded my highest calorie week for the year (6,819 calories), obviously with Sunday’s long ride as the major contributor.

Another work teleconference tonight, but fortunately it is at the rather civilised time of 10:30pm and only scheduled to go for 30 minutes.

5 Responses to “Two’s company …”

  1. sassydrcil Says:

    Wow, 6819 calories – that is about a kilo of fat in that.
    Yes, I hear you on the support you get from people you never/rarely meet. Almost like anonymity gets people more honest about themselves.
    Though it was lovely to have you and Katrina over and chat in the flesh.

  2. offthelongrun Says:

    Hi Andrew,

    I’ve mentioned the fact to a few people and they are amazed that 2 people can go for a run having never met before.
    I had a great time this morning, thank you – it was almost like the run was secondary.
    Can’t wait for our next one.

  3. morseyruns Says:

    It is strange- the blog kinship- and it is almost impossible to explain to people who don’t have internet friends!

  4. jojo Says:

    running with new people is good. it may be great, but even when you dont get along like a house on fire, its okay to be running with a bit of silence too!

  5. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    What a wonderful testimony to the power of this community! And what an awesome calorie-burning week you had! (I went the other direction. LOL)

    Thanks so much for the link! I’ll certainly be returning the courtesy!

Leave a Reply

