Hot 100

Firstly, I think I had better acknowledge all the Collingwood supporters out there. Your team were awesome last night, and were far too good for Geelong, and I think you may be very close to another premiership. Congratulations!

At weekly weigh-in this morning the weight was exactly where it was last week at 72.0 kg. As I said last week, the weight seems to be in a nice state of balance recently, it’s been within 300g of 72kg for each of the last six weeks.

After our trip to the market this morning we headed over to the local shopping centre with the main purpose being the local Chemist Warehouse for some fish oil. I decided a while back that I should be taking a fish oil supplement but hadn’t got around to doing anything about it. After some very friendly help from the shop assistant I have ended up with some Ethical Nutrients Hi-Strength Liquid Fish Oil and some Swisse Wild Krill Oil capsules. I’m going to take 5ml of the liquid and one capsule each day and see how I go. The liquid fish oil is much stronger than most of the capsules, with most of these I was told I would need to take 6-9 each day, so the liquid seems a better option. I tried some with lunch and it is a pleasant fruity taste, and not too oily. It will be interesting to see if it does me any good.

A fairly hard effort on the bike today. I had the Garmin on the lap screen, which shows the speed, time and distance for the current lap. I have the auto-lap feature set to reset lap counters every 5km, so I decided to try and complete each 5km in under 11 minutes. I did well for the first three 5km splits (10:39, 10:55, 10:27) then just missed the next two (11:06, 11:29), and then decided to add in a couple of the steep hills in the last couple of kilometres, so the last split blew out to 14:03. But I got home tired and sweaty, with just over 32km in 1:13 (about 26.1 km/hr).

If you’re wondering what the new graphic (top right) means, it is because I’ve decided to join Steve, over at his LogMyLoss blog, in his Hot 100 challenge. Essentially this challenge asks you to list three goals and then focus on getting them done in the last 100 days of the year. Then you have to post weekly updates for these goals. Whilst I think I am fairly well focussed on my goals already, this can’t hurt. It will definitely increase accountability. I haven’t decided which three of my goals I will choose yet, more on that later.

9 Responses to “Hot 100”

  1. Em Says:

    Aw christ Andrew don’t encourage them, if they win the GF Eddie will be unbearable!

  2. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    You’re doing so well at maintenance! I’m sure it has nothing to do with all those bike rides and runs. 🙂 Well done!

  3. Tish Says:

    You’re generous to acknowledge the other team’s skill, but are your fingers crossed? I like the idea of splits for your bike ride. Which Garmin do you have? I didn’t see your Hot 100 graphic on my display, but followed your text link and signed up for it myself. This sounds like a great idea for motivating myself to make that final push to reach my WW goal. It’s doable, I’ve got to just adopt Nike’s motto and DO it! Thanks.

  4. morseyruns Says:

    I can’t see the graphic either- but I like the idea. As for the football- I don’t even like football but I hate Collingwood.

  5. South Beach Steve Says:

    Andrew, I am glad to have you on board. As for the graphic, it is only visible when you are on the home page, not from an individual post’s page.

    The best to you!

  6. Scarlett Says:

    I’m doing the Hot 100 too, I’ve decided.

    And congratulations for being so consistent with your weigh ins. You are an inspiration to me.

  7. Michelle Says:

    Nice riding. I find it fun to set little challenges when running or riding, keeps me occupied and makes the workout go quicker.

  8. Lee Says:

    You are very noble Andrew when I know you are probably shattered 😦 I really hope you don’t lose Gazza to the Gold Coast!

    I dislike the Pies immensely!!

  9. jojo Says:

    Thanks Andrew, being a cwood supporter and all! geelong have been superb over the last couple years and deserved to win but did drop off a little this year

Leave a Reply

