A good Sunday …

Last night we were watching a movie when we heard a crash. You know how it is, you hear a noise, go looking but can’t find anything. You know something has happened but you don’t know what. Anyway, this morning when I went to get dressed to go for my early morning bike ride I saw what it was. One of the coat hanger rails in our walk-in wardrobe had collapsed – the one with all my cycling gear on it. Probably a sign I have too much cycling gear!

Anyway, it was a beautiful morning for a ride, I headed down the Western Ring Road Path. It included one good deed. When I was returning home I came upon a lady riding a recumbent bicycle, who was looking lost. She had come to the point on the path where there is currently a detour due to the Ring Road roadworks and had no idea where she had to go. You have to ride through the new suburb of Gowanbrae, and it is a bit tricky. What is it with these new suburbs now, all the roads are windy and all over the place, it is so easy to lose your sense of direction. Anyway, I offered to ride back with her and show her the way – I’d just come from where she wanted to go and it was only a couple of kilometres. She said, “Are you sure, I’m pretty slow, I’m a one-legged cyclist!”. She wasn’t slow though, she could zip along quite okay in her recumbent. So that little detour turned my planned 30km ride into 35km, but it is always nice to help a fellow cyclist – one day it might be me who needs a helping hand.

So, then we went shopping for some new hardware to repair the coat hanger rail, and we also ended up coming home with a new printer. The kids have been bugging us to buy a wireless printer for a while now, which really makes sense when there are three laptops in the house. The afternoon was spent fixing the coat hanger rail and installing the printer (which wasn’t as trivial an exercise as I thought it was going to be). I also took the opportunity to do a load of washing of my cycling gear as I do have a habit of wearing them and only putting them in the wash if they are really sweaty, so now I have a completely clean cycling wardrobe to choose from.

Tea tonight was a gorgeous Wagyu topside roast done in the BBQ, with delicious roast vegetables. Today’s eating has been pretty good actually with fruit salad and greek yoghurt for breakfast and a great omelette for lunch.

Another weekend is over (nearly), and another working week beckons all too quickly. Hope everyone’s weekend was good, and good luck to John in his new job!

6 Responses to “A good Sunday …”

  1. Em Says:

    I have two cats, I hear mysterious crashes all the time, usually followed by a dazed cat walking in the room.

    I was folding and putting away a pile of running gear today, I have waaaaay to much running gear, more than normal gear almost.

    It was the first good BBQ day of the season 🙂

  2. walkinwardrobestore Says:

    Hi Andrew i wish I was as active as you.
    I was surfing for walkin wardrobes and came accross you blog

    http://www.walkinwardrobestore.com

  3. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Isn’t it odd how they keep the printers right next to the hardware supplies? 🙂

    I don’t do so well with windy roads, either. Nice to know there are people out there who will help.

  4. jojo Says:

    printers are neve an easy install in my experience

  5. Carla Says:

    You seem like such a wonderful person. Most people would not even notice someone who looked lost, let along help them find their way!

  6. Karen Says:

    Last time we heard a mysterious crash we remained in the dark as to the cause until our son went to school the next morning and discovered that a spring on the garage door had broken. Since my bedroom is right above, I am glad it didn’t happen in the middle of the night! Stopped by to see how you are doing on the Hot 100 challenge.

Leave a Reply

