Good Calories, Bad Calories

I love Book Depository. For those of you that haven’t used it, it is a UK based website, like Amazon, for ordering books. The big selling point though is the free, world-wide shipping. I ordered a book last week and it arrived today, only 8 days from the other side of the world, and $10 cheaper than I could have got it here, except it wasn’t in any of the book shops I looked in!

The book I ordered was “Good Calories, Bad Calories – Fats, Carbs, and the Controversial Science of Diet and Health” by Gary Taubes. It is a weighty tome, that is for sure, full of scientific research. The last 140 (of over 600) pages are footnotes, bibliography and index. Looking forward to reading it, but I think it is going to take me a while.

Another bike ride tonight, just over 20km in just over 44 minutes.

7 Responses to “Good Calories, Bad Calories”

  1. Vicki M. Says:

    That book depository sounds like a great deal, I’ll have to check it out.

  2. Debbi Does Dinner Healthy Says:

    I will check it out, thanks for the info!

  3. Dr. J Says:

    This book certainly has gotten plenty of press! Put it in your backpack for the rides and you’ll burn lots more calories πŸ™‚

    Being surgeon, I don’t know much, and I like it that way. I’ll leave this book for my physician friends since they do know a lot, and I’ll just stick to doing a lot!

  4. Tish Says:

    Thanks for the heads up about the Book Depository. Interestingly enough, I often order from AmazonUK because their prices are sometimes better than the amazon.com prices. I’m pretty sure I bought Taube’s book a year or two ago. Now I need to look at it again–it sounds like it makes good sense to me. Sounds like a nice ride–I don’t see a ride in my future until possibly tomorrow evening. The weather is perfect, so I’ll try to make it happen.

    Re your question about multitasking. DH is wonderful and smart and accomplished, but he can’t multitask worth a darn. Maybe it has something to do with the X chromosome. . . . LOL

  5. Em Says:

    I love the BD, a colleague and I use it alot, when that package arrives at the door at work we both get excited wondering which one of us it is for πŸ™‚

  6. teresa Says:

    Ooh, thanks for the book tip. There’s always room for another informative book about this stuff. Maybe someday I’ll actually understand it!
    Hello.
    I found your blog through the Hot 100 challenge. I’m loving finding all these new and interesting blogs.
    I look forward to exploring your posts more as the time goes by.
    Take care!

  7. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Free shipping? Magic words for me, so thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

