Pooh Bear

Again a failed plan to get up and exercise early this morning. I’d planned an early morning ride but had forgotten with daylight saving starting today that it would still be dark. Or at least that was the excuse I made to myself so I could roll over and go back to sleep!

After breakfast we went to the Garden Show that was held at Caulfield Racecourse. It was a beautiful day to wander around the show. On the way home we called in to Niddrie for lunch, ending up at a restaurant called Cravin’ Crapes. Now with a name like that you know that you’re about to indulge a little, but when I saw the “Pooh Bear” crepe on the menu, with peanut butter and honey, I knew it was going to be more than a little indulgence. It was quite delicious though, I must say!

Back at home I settled down to watch the last few hours of the UCI World Cycling Championships Men’s Road Race. I can’t believe how great Geelong looked in the coverage. The circuit around Geelong looked really tough, a couple of nasty little climbs. A brave effort from Cadel Evans, a great finish by Allan Davis to take the bronze, with Norwegian “God of Thunder” Thor Hushovd winning the sprint to the finish line. Inspired by the race, I headed out for a ride while the roast chicken and roast beef were cooking in the BBQ. A nice 27.3 km in just about exactly an hour.

Cilla (who I was going to pace in the 10 km race next weekend) rang me this morning to tell me her run yesterday wasn’t as good as she’d like, that she’s still feeling sick and will likely be downgrading her entry to the 5km race. Then Alex sent me an email saying he was pulling out of our scheduled run tomorrow morning because his thigh injury isn’t getting better. So, it looks like I now have to think about how I’ll run the 10k race alone next Sunday. As you know, I haven’t been doing much running, and pacing Cilla to her <65 minute PB was what I’ve had in my head the last month or so. Now I’m on my own, what to do? I’m obviously nowhere near PB shape. I’ve been thinking about goals for 2011, and had decided that a good “perpetual” goal to have every year would be to “run a 10 km race in less than your age”. Maybe that would be a good goal for next Sunday? For me that means 10km in less than 51 minutes (5:06 min/km pace) – right now I think it would be challenging and something to strive for.

4 Responses to “Pooh Bear”

  1. katsmumblings Says:

    I watched the road race too. They are amazing athletes. It would be interesting to have a heart rate monitor on them to see what their average HR, Highest HR and calories burnt were.

    Just getting out there and running the race to the best you can do currently would be ok, for the amount of running you have been able to to lately. You never know, Cilla may get better and still maybe be able to run.

  2. Alex Says:

    Andrew,

    I’ll be there Sunday – I’m being cautious until then.

  3. Dee Dieter Says:

    Oh yeah, Daylight Savings, a great excuse to crawl back under the covers. We are still a couple of weeks to the switch over ourselves. But you still went for an awesome ride – fantastic.

  4. sassydrcil Says:

    I think I will just get out there and enjoy the atmosphere and the weather and a beautiful melbourne sunrise over the yarra – the weather looks good and we will be up before it gets too hot
    The atmosphere is what will help most, I think.
    I will go as slow as I need to. I will leave it at the 10km, and walk if I need.
    I will not worry about the time I get – I have been sick and injured. I am starting to look forward to it, and realise that this is not the first time I have gone into a race under-prepared!
    I will see you there. It is quite early. We can meet up for brekky after – will be a few hours between finishing the 10km and the pub opening – we need to get the lining on the stomach.
    My new interim goal is a 30 min 5km – Em has given me some good tips.
    well, see you sunday! 😀

Leave a Reply

