A half day …

I had a personal appointment late this morning (tax agent), so decided to take a half days leave (in lieue of some of those late night meetings they keep throwing at me). This enabled me to sleep in a little, but still get out for a decent bike ride before breakfast. I rode a very similar course as yesterdays ride, but slightly longer. The ride out was quite fast and easy, but after the turn-around the headwind made it quite tough. It was a deceptively gusty, strong wind this morning. The ride was 28 km at an average speed of about 24 km/hr.

After breakfast I managed to fit in mowing and edging the lawns before my appointment.

After work I headed out for my first run for over two weeks. I figured after discussing my goal for Sunday on the blog yesterday, it might be a good idea to see if I could still run 5 minute pace, as I haven’t done it for a while. The run tonight was a lot like the ride this morning, in that the start was easier than the end, because again the run home was against the wind and slightly up hill. I averaged about 4:45 min/km for the first few kilometres, but by the end of the just under 5km run the average pace was out to 5:08 min/km. So, whilst it may be possible for me to hit my 51 minute goal on Sunday, I don’t think it will be easy.

After tea tonight, a short home workout which was primarily leg strengthening, core work, stretching and self-massage.

So, less work, and more exercise than my usual Monday has made this quite a good day!

2 Responses to “A half day …”

  1. South Beach Steve Says:

    It would be nice if we were to get paid for the exercise, wouldn’t it? 🙂 I think I am going to take a day off Friday to get some chores done.

    Grats on another good day AJH!

  2. Kathy Says:

    Good luck with achieving your pace goal Andrew. Sounds like your half day was well deserved!

Leave a Reply

