Do you, or don’t you?

A great bike ride tonight, I went out intent to push myself fairly hard for about an hour. Ended up with 27.5 km at an average speed of about 28.5 km/hr. I felt happily tired at the end, with achey quads, probably a combination of the ride tonight and last nights run.

There seems to be a lot more glass on the roads around here the last couple of days. I seem to remember the same thing happening last year when daylight savings started. Coincidence?

Now, to my question that explains the title of this post. Do you sometimes feel the need to comment on colleagues food choices? Do you ever feel like you would be doing them a dis-service if you don’t point out that their deep-fried “whatever” may not be the best option? I usually don’t say anything, do you?

15 Responses to “Do you, or don’t you?”

  1. Jaykay Says:

    It depends on who the person is. Michelle and I constantly complain about our own food choices, let alone elses, but generally I don’t say anything. My theory is that most people know the consequences of what they put in their mouth!

  2. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Nope, I keep my mouth shut on that one. I do find that other people feel it necessary to apologize to me for their choices. I’m not sure what that’s about.

  3. Dee Dieter Says:

    You are the biking star!!!! That’s weird about the glass…hmmmm????

    And to answer your question – Absolutely not! Well, maybe if it is my daughter (she’s 27), but most people know what they are doing – even if it is bad. Everyone has to go through their own journey. Now, if they ask for advice or help…that’s one thing, but unsolicited advice is usally not welcome.

  4. Scarlett Says:

    No, never comment on other people’s choices. And I think you gotta give them more credit than that. They know it’s not the best choice. I doubt they’re putting something deep fried into their mouth because ‘it’s good for them’.

    Plus it’s not our responsibility, it’s their life and if they want to change it then they can ask for support. But I don’t feel I have any right to step in and tell them what they should or shouldn’t be eating, no matter what it is (unless, of course, they actually just pulled it out of the toilet). I would not appreciate anyone telling me that I could/should be eating something better. I know this, I’m not dumb, but it’s still my choice and I’d prefer it to be my choice without the feeling of guilt or humiliation.

    Just my two cents 🙂

  5. Halfof360 Says:

    Great blog!

    Never, never give up…
    Working towards half,
    Tony B. @ Half of 360
    halfof360.blogspot.com

  6. JH Says:

    Nope – I stay well away from that whole topic, for much the same reason that I never comment on a woman’s weight, positively or negatively. Chances are they already know, and me talking about it isn’t going to make a lick of difference and might be offensive.

  7. Kathy Says:

    Funnily enough, I’d feel fine to say “that’s a healthy choice” but I wouldn’t comment on a choice that I didn’t think was so smart.

  8. sassydrcil Says:

    Re glass on bike tracks: people are careless arseholes.
    Re commenting on colleagues food choices: probably not a good idea. Saying “that looks good/healthy/smells nice” is fine.

  9. offthelongrun Says:

    Ha -working in transport – every 2nd person smokes – has greasy food for breaky, lunch and tea – If I commented on every one of their eating habits; that’s all I’d have time for in a day!

  10. morseyruns Says:

    Considering all the evil stuff is half price and 40 metres away from our office I will discuss it with the newer guys- about how it doesnt satisfy you, looks clichéd and how there are a million options just down the laneway. Don’t know if it works- worked for me 11 years ago when I got told!

  11. kineticspirit Says:

    I don’t feel conflicted, as my psychologist said, most overweight people know more about dieting than anyone else because they’ve tried them all.

    I said to my brother once who told me I needed to exercise more, “oh my god, are you suggesting I have some kind of weight problem? Thank you so much for pointing it out, I had no idea. What would I have done without you?”

    Ditto for food choices.

  12. AndrewENZ Says:

    Never but I sometimes think very loudly!

  13. Carla Says:

    I do not comment. I try to show by example. I am usually not too judgemental in my mind either, because I have had problems with my eating habits in the past too! I know how difficult it can be to get your diet in line.

  14. jojo Says:

    if they are skinny i might say something jokingly otherwise NEVER, because i know how it makes me feel if people say anything-which is TERRIBLE

Leave a Reply

